PDA

View Full Version : stretching the rules

mech2161
06-16-2011, 08:02 PM
Rick, I've had a few calls over the last few days to get my take on some of the rules. The two that seem to be in question are hitches and p-pumps. While I have my opinion I thought it might be best to let you know about this and make the call.

The hitch that seemed to ruffle some feathers appeared to be attached in front of the rear axle. I have no first hand knowledge of the truck in question. Apparently this truck was allowed to pull in the 2.6 class.

The pump issue doesn't involve a "single" truck. I guess there are people saying that there are trucks running Ag pumps. I know that without someone knowing what to look for it could be over looked or not looked for at all.

It's tough enough to be competitive without spending $20k+. One person said they wouldn't finish their truck if they needed these to run with FPP.

Hitch: The hitch must be a receiver-style hitch; reinforcements are permitted. Reinforcements must not extend forward of the centerline of the rear axle. Trick hitches are prohibited. The hooking point must be the rear-most point on the vehicle

and must be rearward of the stock location of the tailgate. The hitch must be horizontal to the ground and stationary in all directions. Bumpers may be notched or removed. The hitch’s height from the ground may not exceed 26 inches on 4wd units and 30 inches on 2wd units. The hooking point must have a minimum 3.750-inch inside diameter opening for the sled hook. The hooking point will be measured to the center of the clevis loop.

Fuel Injection Pump: The fuel injection pump is limited to a stock-appearing, OEM engine make-specific pump only. Dual high-pressure common-rail fuel pumps or HPOPs are permitted. The P7100 injection pump, if equipped, must utilize a stock-appearing governor.

madmikeismad
06-16-2011, 08:27 PM
How do you check for different governors?

dieseljunkie
06-16-2011, 08:30 PM