PDA

View Full Version : Lazarsmith's G56 brace


K80
04-24-2012, 04:08 PM
I'm seriously considering lazar's trans brace. Who has one? Worth the $$? Any install issues? And no, I'm NOT putting a NV5600 in.

WILD_PHIL
04-24-2012, 10:50 PM
I like that, NO not putting a 5600 in. Good thing you addressed that first. lol

LReiff
04-24-2012, 11:10 PM
I hear that they are a PITA to install.



Put an NV4500 in it LOL

K80
04-25-2012, 06:22 AM
Put an NV4500 in it LOL

Lol. I'l pass on the 5 sp. Thanks.

WILD_PHIL
04-25-2012, 02:57 PM
Justin have you dynoed with that efi yet? Just wondering what others are putting down on tgese transmissions.

K80
04-25-2012, 03:17 PM
I haven't been on the dyno since getting it. Last time I dyno'd was 555/1036 on a mild smarty tntr tune. The tune I'm runnin with efi is pretty mild. A basic 60-90 hp tune from shane at PDW when I picked it up. It doesn't feel quite as strong but MUCH smoother delivery. Its amazing how just smoothing out the maps make the truck so much nicer to drive every day.

GRotman
04-25-2012, 03:47 PM
I have a customer that has the g56 brace from lazar smith, so far it is working well at holding the trans together at 840 hp. He has put about 12,000 miles on it so far at that power level with out any carnage. And no he doesnt detune it to drive it everyday.

CumminsinKansas
04-25-2012, 03:59 PM
Had one on my late 05 G56 with a Valair ceramic DD. Held up well. Only had it setup like that for a few weeks before I sold it, so couldn't tell ya how it's holding up now. FWIW I also had the coolers and they did drop the temp by a little bit.

K80
04-25-2012, 07:18 PM
Thanks guys. I might get the coolers at some point as well. Thanks for the input.

07redsled
04-25-2012, 07:20 PM
get the brace man!

Gibson
04-25-2012, 10:35 PM
Thanks guys. I might get the coolers at some point as well. Thanks for the input.
Coolers are not compatible with the brace. Also not needed if you run gorilla juice.

smoke machine
04-25-2012, 10:43 PM
I got one in today. No instructions or bolts though

K80
04-26-2012, 06:26 AM
I do run gorilla juice and it looks like I'l be ordering one.

smoke machine: Can you do me a big favor and let me/us know what bolt sizes and lengths are needed for install?

smoke machine
04-26-2012, 07:27 AM
I'm going to call mike at Lazarsmith today and see what all I need. I didn't buy it from him direct

K80
04-26-2012, 10:58 AM
Oh, got ya.

CumminsinKansas
04-26-2012, 01:30 PM
Thanks guys. I might get the coolers at some point as well. Thanks for the input.

As posted above, you can't use the coolers when the brace is installed. Posted from my phone yesterday and failed to mention, my bad. The coolers work but in my real life experience the brace is probably better insurance over the coolers in making the aluminum cased G56 last under high torque. Sorry for not noting that in my haste yesterday. Also as noted above, Gorilla Juice is the way to go. Shifts a lot better with Gorilla Juice vs the factory fill atf+4.

K80
04-26-2012, 04:18 PM
Just ordered one. I'l take some pics when it shows up.

07redsled
04-26-2012, 05:26 PM
maybe ill switch to the gorilla stuff , ive been running b&m trick shift for 35k now no issues

smoke machine
04-26-2012, 06:27 PM
guys for a cheaper fluid thats recomended by mercedes get some mobile delvac 50 weight. kills almost all gear roll over noise and shifts alot better

Valair1
04-26-2012, 06:52 PM
a few guys I know running the mobil delvac and a few running this Synergyn Syngear II Manual Transmission Fluid (http://www.xentxsynergyn.com/synergyn/gear-lubricants/syngear-ii-case-of-12-1-qt-bottles.html)

silverbullet5.9
05-20-2012, 11:13 PM
def a PITA to install

DC89SSP
05-21-2012, 08:45 PM
guys for a cheaper fluid thats recomended by mercedes get some mobile delvac 50 weight. kills almost all gear roll over noise and shifts alot better

When you say it shifts better, is that better than GJ? I swapped clutches and added Gj and it shifts like crap now.

Where did you get the Delvac?

Valair1
05-22-2012, 06:00 AM
I think all of it shifts a little slow while cold, I havent personally ran the GJ, just the Delvac

PA-Hoov
05-22-2012, 07:57 AM
They are tough to install, especially if you are running a 5" pipe from the turbo, there isnt an whole lot of clearance. I havent hit the track since, so I cant tell you if it made a difference or not.

skirsman
05-22-2012, 08:31 AM
Good stuff but u have to re seal the middle section. And u need a 4" down pipe. I have a full gorilla g56. Great tranny pulls great and even my turbo spool faster. The power flows better thru the tranny. But my cc 4.5" down pipe knock on the shield all the time

LReiff
05-23-2012, 07:36 AM
Good stuff but u have to re seal the middle section. And u need a 4" down pipe. I have a full gorilla g56. Great tranny pulls great and even my turbo spool faster. The power flows better thru the tranny. But my cc 4.5" down pipe knock on the shield all the time
LOL Best story ever! Are you a salesman?

skirsman
05-24-2012, 08:32 AM
LOL Best story ever! Are you a salesman?

Went thru 3 tranny before the gorilla. And talk to other people that did the same thing. Tired of downtime. 3 weeks in 1 year

TMONEYDIESEL
05-24-2012, 08:40 AM
Got to love extra turbo spool from a brace!

smoke machine
05-24-2012, 10:10 AM
Manual trans makes turbo spool faster lol. Ive heard it all lol. I installed the brace and broke the trans in DPC. Not exactly sure what broke but sounds like we have a gear floating around

skirsman
05-26-2012, 06:45 AM
Dpc???

WILD_PHIL
05-26-2012, 12:01 PM
Diesel Power Challenge. The super bowl for diesel enthusiasts

skirsman
05-27-2012, 10:45 AM
Thanks. But that tranny had the gorilla treatment and fluid???

K80
07-09-2012, 08:32 AM
Ok. I bought the brace an received it a while back. Finally got around to painting it and test fitted it yesterday. I see where you guys are coming from saying its a PITA. My Q is.. besides the trans cross member being dropped and the slave being routed through the side, Is there anything else that got in the way during install? It looks like exhaust is tight as well. Any comments about install appreciated.

PA-Hoov
07-09-2012, 09:50 AM
How did you get to the bolts that hold the sides together on the top of the tranny? I took my tranny out and put it all together.

K80
07-09-2012, 10:43 AM
I separated it. It was already apart to paint. So you're saying its easier to yank the trans to put it in?

K80
08-14-2012, 05:20 PM
Well I finally got this thing on the trans with a little help from a friend. You guys weren't chit'n, it wasn't fun. Lol. Its on though and here's proof. Thanks for help guys.

BSwope
08-15-2012, 07:09 AM
Good stuff but u have to re seal the middle section. And u need a 4" down pipe. I have a full gorilla g56. Great tranny pulls great and even my turbo spool faster. The power flows better thru the tranny. But my cc 4.5" down pipe knock on the shield all the time

:hehe:... I damn near spit coffee all over my laptop, I needed a good laugh...!

marshallc
08-28-2012, 07:58 PM
it is a serious piece, we put one on my buddies g56 and it has held up to 30k HARD miles at 700+ rwhp where as before the brace the g56 was in and out of the truck 2x in 45k miles...

XLR8R
08-29-2012, 12:51 PM
Newer Tork Shields are easier to install - captive nuts so you only need one pair of hands, clearanced bellhousing sleeves for improved downpipe clearance, shortened mid-case sleeves for easier installation w/T-case, redesigned bracket to fit with the different tranny mount styles and a new scratch & chip-proof absorption coating.

If the tranny is already out of the truck, you can net ~1 hour less installation time by bolting the Tork Shield onto the tranny before stabbing it back through the clutch.

K80
08-29-2012, 03:48 PM
I have a question though. The front and rear holes used to sandwich the shield together use the same realestate as bosses on the trans. In my pic above you can see what i'm talkin about. Only way to get the bolts through there would be to drill through the bosses, hanging off of the trans? Kind of confusing so i didn't use them. Also, the cap screws that were sent with the shield were shorter that the factory torx (E heads). So I re-used the factories. No real complaints, the shield is on. Just wondering.

XLR8R
08-29-2012, 06:00 PM
Strange... I just checked and there's less than .005" difference between the OEM E-heads and replacement allen socket heads.

There's indentations in the case casting ears to drill the holes - takes a couple minutes to do all of three of them.

K80
08-29-2012, 07:24 PM
I wasn't sure so i didn't drill em. There are also ears on top of the trans that I would've had to drop the trans also to drill. No biggie. As far as the bolt length goes, the cap screws that were sent are about 1/4 inch shorter. IIRC. I could pull one to measure more accurately but there are more than enough threads for the factory E's to work.

XLR8R
08-29-2012, 09:57 PM
Hmm - since we've only ever had 1 part number for those, I suppose it's possible the hardware manufacturer could've sent the next size down by mistake... email me your address and I'll send a correct-length set.