PDA

View Full Version : Beginer/economy lathe and mill for me

roachie
06-20-2013, 11:16 AM
After the truck sells I intend on fully outfitting my shop lift, welders, ect. I have very little experience with machining and I will not be using these every day. Mostly going to get used to make brackets and other small things. As much as I would like to buy and actual bridgport they have been evading me.

Here is what I have found.

Mill
http://www.grizzly.com/products/Drill-Mill-with-Stand-29-inch-x-8-inch-Table/G0705

Lathe
http://www.grizzly.com/products/11-x-26-Bench-Lathe-w-Gearbox/G9972Z

And this saw is quite awesome.
http://www.grizzly.com/products/7-x-8-1-4-Swivel-Metal-Cutting-Bandsaw/G0613

If anyone else has recommendations I'm all ears.

okie18
06-20-2013, 01:35 PM
The mill just looks like a converted drill press. If it is, they are not built for the side load/thrust an actual like an actual mill.

turbom700
06-20-2013, 02:04 PM
What okie said.

Dont waste your money you wont be happy with either one of them.

The "mill" is what they call a mill/drill works great for drilling and that about it.

Lathe is a joke as the chuck is tiny and you will get crap for surface finish or be accurate.

Search CL and other machinery auctions for a used lathe and mill you will be money well spent down the road.

Mike

not enoughsmoke
06-20-2013, 02:09 PM
The Mill is pretty much the same as my small one. It will work fine.It will have its limitations

Nor'Easter
06-20-2013, 05:09 PM
That mill is $1500, I see Bridgeports around from $1500-2500 in good condition. Obviously you might not get digital read outs, but it's a large step above that Grizzly.

SuperSonic
06-20-2013, 08:59 PM
Hit the auctions Roachie. Plenty of nice older equipment selling at industrial auctions.
We bought a nice 3axis CNC machining center for 2,000 a couple years ago. Recent got a Cincinnati mill with power feed and a newer DRO for 500.

roachie
06-20-2013, 11:33 PM