PDA

View Full Version : SCT Custom Tune Vibration at Idle Issue

pstrang
05-04-2006, 08:18 PM
I'm getting quite an engine vibration when parked at idle with the SCT/ID custom tunes. It's present in Park, Neutral, and Drive. I hear/feel it a lot more when I depress the brake pedal. It occurs with or without PI and with the economy and street tunes.

No driving issues that I notice.

Strange though, it only happens when the engine is nice and warm. Nothing cold, or even at normal op temps. Only when the engine has been run for approx. 20 min. or longer. So maybe engine oil temp related? I'm running Rotella-T 5W/40 Synthetic. Ambient temps are 40-70F.

Anyone else have this? Any ideas? Impending injector failure?

Thanks.

bdp
05-04-2006, 09:49 PM
Sounds like injectors, need to get it on a scanner and see if it has an injector code.

4S FED
05-04-2006, 09:52 PM
I have been running ID's tunes for over 7 months and not had an issue. :confused: How many miles on your truck? Has it had a vibration ever since you loaded the tune?

Dalpilot
05-04-2006, 10:40 PM
I agree, betting injectors, does it feel like its missing?

pstrang
05-05-2006, 09:23 AM
I have almost 15k now. Never any problems. I noticed the vibration a couple weeks after I started the tunes; imparticularly after a 300-400 mile fishing trip. Been doing it ever since, but only when completely warmed up. This all took place last March.

pstrang
05-05-2006, 09:25 AM
I agree, betting injectors, does it feel like its missing?

No, I never get the impression it was missing. And it goes away when I start driving. Only notice it at idle after it's good and warmed up.

Dalpilot
05-05-2006, 10:13 AM
That is truly strange. I am still leaning towards injectors.

UNBROKEN
05-05-2006, 03:21 PM
Does it do it without a tune installed ?

jschall
05-06-2006, 02:51 PM