PDA

View Full Version : Newbie wanting info

NOVICOUPE
02-09-2007, 08:39 AM
I am a newbie to this site and for the most part diesel engines.I am wanting to get a new different truck.(I now have a 1991 F-250 ext. cab with 460 5-speed.)I am wanitng to go with a diesel since I will be hauling my street strip mustang back and forth to the strip.I have a 20 all steel open car trailer Iwill be only going to be hauling the car only every couple of weeks and driving the truck as a daily driver the rest of the time.I am wanting a 1994-1997 f-250 or f-350 crew cab 4x4. What is a decent price for one of these in good shape with decent miles.All the ones here seem to be pretty high. several 1997 f-350 crews around here with 150,000 with a asking price of between $15,000and $16,000. I need to know what to look for as far as getting a good diesel truck.Which trans is better? I would prefer an automatic but if the 5 speed will cause less problems and be a better overall trans I will go with that.What are the major problems that I will run into with as far as costly repairs for trucks with higher miles.Obviously the lower the miles the better, but what mileage is too much as far as having to probably dump a bunch of money into the truck shortly after getting it.I live in NE IN so winters will be pretty cold some years.What problems come with cold weather.In my case do you think a diesel is for me or would a gas truck actually be more of what I want.I just want to not make a bad decision and not end up with a good truck.I know some of these question are probaly answered other places on here I just did not want to have to search a bunch for all the answers I am looking for.Any help would be greatly appreciated.Thanks Chip(NOVIOUPE)

Timbeaux
02-09-2007, 08:50 AM
Welcome to Competition Diesel Chip. Id think 15-16k for a 97 is a bit on the high side. I have a friens that bought a 96 350 srw CC 4x4 for about 8k if I recall correctly?

nummit
02-09-2007, 09:34 AM