Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Tech Area- Dodge > Dodge Tech > 94-98 2nd Gen. 12V
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2017, 10:17 AM   #1
Mopar_tom
 
Mopar_tom's Avatar

Name: Mopar_tom
Title: Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ct
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2
Converter bolts?

Hey guys just a quick question I can't seem to find an answer to anywhere to spite all my searching. I recently broke my input shaft on my transmission so now that it's out I added a whole bunch of goodies to it, the only question I have now is what to use for bolts in the torque coverter? I have a billet triple disc and billet flex plate from Goerand. Will the added thickness from the billet flex plate require me to get new longer bolts or not? Truck is a 1995 2500 47rh 4x4. Thanks in advance for any help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 10:21 AM   #2
badbowtie
 
badbowtie's Avatar

Name: badbowtie
Title: custom engine daydreamer
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Plainfield IN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 453
I would call Goerand and ask, but I would think you would want longer bolts to make up the difference in thickness.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
__________________
1996 3500 4x4 5spd
1991 D350 5spd
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 10:43 AM   #3
jlbayes
 
jlbayes's Avatar

Name: jlbayes
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: michigan
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,258
I reused my stock bolts for years until I went to a bolt together converter.
__________________
Jacob, 01 qcsb "strictly business" Infinite Performance, Calibrated Addiction, Farrell Diesel, 97 rclb
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 10:46 AM   #4
nasty 2005
 
nasty 2005's Avatar

Name: nasty 2005
Title: Cummins Tech.
Status: Here
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: S. Minnesota
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 294
Usually Goerend sends new bolts with for their converters.
__________________
11' CCSB, MCC by Anarchy, AFE, Revmax, Flopro, Applied Performance Products, Caltracs, Leveled, 35's

Sold-95' ECLB

R.I.P-05' QCSB
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 12:16 PM   #5
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 3,179
You can use the stock bolts ($28 at the dealership if I recall correctly). They are technically torque to yield, so you'll want new ones. I'd recommend putting red Loctite on all of them.

If you want one's that are not TTY because you're going to be removing it more often than most people, ARP sells some (I have them on mine), but they're hard to find!

I've used stock bolts on a 47re stock TC, 48re stock TC, Goerand billet triple disc, and a TransStar Recon billet triple disc and never had a single issue.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 12:51 PM   #6
Justappumped24v
 
Justappumped24v's Avatar

Name: Justappumped24v
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Illinois
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 625
I just use grade 8 bolts from ace hardware... held 1400hp without any issues
__________________
98.5 24v just a 350hp tow pig
98 CCLB 12V UCC qualifier build
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 07:59 PM   #7
Mopar_tom
 
Mopar_tom's Avatar

Name: Mopar_tom
Title: Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ct
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2
Alright I'll have to double check with goerand I already have the bolts that came with the goerand converter since that was in the truck before the input shaft blew. I just wasn't sure if switching to a thicker flex plate (goerands billet replacing my stock plate)meant getting longer bolts. I'll give them a call tomorrow and see what they say if I do need new ones I'll probably hit up the hardware store that sounds like a good plan to me, thanks for the help!
__________________
95' 2500 automatic 4x4, RCLB.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 01:13 PM   #8
Justappumped24v
 
Justappumped24v's Avatar

Name: Justappumped24v
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Illinois
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 625
Just make sure they are grade 8 bolts and you are golden!
__________________
98.5 24v just a 350hp tow pig
98 CCLB 12V UCC qualifier build
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.

 


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2006 - 2017, CompetitionDiesel.com
all information found on this site is property of www.competitiondiesel.com