Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Tech Area- Dodge > Dodge Tech > 98-02 2nd Gen.
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 01-29-2019, 03:21 PM   #1
zachu812

Name: zachu812
Title: Too Much Time
Member`s Gallery
VP44 Standalone ECU Project

Title says it all, I've had this idea for years but haven't had the time and resources to start on anything until recently. Go figure it's after I ppumped the truck, now it's more about seeing what these pumps are capable of and learning something along the way. I'm an electrical engineer by trade so I've got a good start on the electronics portion of things but my software skills are pretty rusty, gonna have a lot to figure out there. I'm open to ideas when I get to that point.

This all started when I took a VP44 apart a few months back and came to the conclusion that the pump itself is capable of moving a decent amount of fuel, the biggest problem it seems is the timing piston galling and locking up. Once this happens the PSG gets all confused and starts doing weird stuff then people blame it on the electronics. I've got some ideas to fix the timing piston problem, or at least to help it live, but that can wait until I get a pump running on a truck. I want to set the code up so the pump still runs fine with static timing, none of that dead pedal crap.

Pump_disassembled.jpg