Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Tech Area- Dodge > Dodge Tech > 94-98 2nd Gen. 12V
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 03-01-2019, 09:28 PM   #1
junkyard dog

Name: junkyard dog
Title: Green Behind the Ears
Member`s Gallery
New engine new problems

So I have a real head scratcher right now. Needing some help from those more knowledgeable than myself.

I have a 91 1st gen I've been running a 97 215hp engine in for several years. Engine has been getting more and more tired so I tore down a 96 for a rebuild while still driving the 91. New engine is +.020 mahle power pack piston kit,balanced rotating assembly, Hamilton 178/208 cam,ATI balancer. I reused my injection pump, lift pump,turbos, and installed a new BD SS manifold. Ported the head a little,mostly cleaned everything up. Engine went together with out any real hiccups, fired it up to break in cam, had charge piping disconnected just in case. Upon initial start up I noticed a sound I've never heard from a diesel, it sounded like a gas engine that the timing had jumped on and was pushing air back thru the intake. I shut it down, tried to make heads or tails of it and decided to fire it back up. It is pulling air into the horn good,none coming out as the sound would make you believe. Ended up running it long enough to break the cam in. Retorqued studs and checked valve lash, nothing terribly out of adjustment, done an oil change and fired her back up. The sound increases and decreases with rpm. I have run the truck to operating temp multiple times n