k31 or s400 for a bottom turbo

tony597fitter

Tax Payer
I will be ordering my bottom turbo soon and I was wondering what would be better. I will be using my HTB2 62\14 for the top. I use my truck as a daily driver and I also tow a 7000 pound camper a few times a year. I like the k31 because of the wastegate, but plumbing in an external is no big deal. I will be doing all my own piping considering I run pipe everyday for a living. I will be running everything in my sig. I am looking to also make in the 600 and up in horsepower, but I also want something that will get me more if I decide that.

What if you were a plumber for a living? Would you plumb your own turbos? Is there a difference?

I have been thinking about the same thing and from what I gather the k31 will spool quicker than the s400 but it will also limit your top end potential. If you tow and your not worried about all out Hp go with a k31.....

Double check and make sure the internal gate on the K31 won't interfere with the frame rail. I know an internally 'gated GT42 won't fit because you can't rotate it so it won't hit the frame.

IMO if you plan on turning over 3500rpm I would buy the S475, if you are going to stay at 3200-3500 I would do the K-31. I would rather have the setup geared more for it's most often use (towing, daily driving, hotrodding) so if it is primarily your daily driver I would want the quicker spooling turbo.

The K-31 will fit with no problem many are running it now. But if you are wanting 600 and maybe more the K-31 is not for you, at least not on a 12 Valve! If your going to be towing much you'd probably be best to stick with the K-31 but you have to decide if you can live without the extra 100 rwhp or so?