Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Vendor Row > Sponsor Forums > EFILive
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2016, 09:16 PM   #1
PRINCETON_JAKE

Name: PRINCETON_JAKE
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Princeton Minnesota
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,070
Stuck on high idle plus underboost

I have a fully built 2006 cummins I had efi live done on. Wow it's anazing! By far the best mod to date, but at the same time I enharited a problem...

The truck is stuck at a 1,000 rpm idle, it does NOT kick off when I touch the brake or when it warms up, it is also trying to pull in gear. One thing we found is the flash scan lists 2 different temp readings, one matches the dash and changes with engine warm up, the other is stuck at -40 degrees.

Today, roughly 600 miles sense tuning, i stopped at a gas station for fuel and when I fired it up the check engine light came on the second it fired. At that point it was in limp mode so I limped to oriellys and scanned it, there was a P0266 "under boost" code. I cleared it and everything was fine the rest of the way home. Its had a boost fooler on it for the last 5+ years and the limiters disabled on top of that....
__________________
silver 2006 ram 2500 4x4, crew cab short box, 48RE auto with "stuff" done, 5.9 with more "stuff" done
 
Old 03-02-2016, 09:44 PM   #2
jedeka

Name: jedeka
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boone, Iowa
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,375
I believe there are two temp sensors. One for the gauge and one for the ecm. My guess is the bade my temp sensor is causing the high idle issue. The code and limp mode is probably from the boost fooler that went bad.
__________________
1996 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4, 5 spd. 4.88 gears, 2.5" turbo, Smokem inj, 5000 rpm springs, NV271, South Bend dd clutch, 33x12.50-15 STS tires, 6 inch stack, custom valve springs

2005 3500 4x4 dually, auto, KORE leveling coils, 19.5 wheels, Smarty Jr
 
Old 03-02-2016, 09:49 PM   #3
PRINCETON_JAKE

Name: PRINCETON_JAKE
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Princeton Minnesota
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,070
I can't find a second sensor anywhere, not even in diagrams. That's my thought.

If the boost fooler (resistor) was bad the code wouldn't clear. Plus the efi has that circuit disabled
__________________
silver 2006 ram 2500 4x4, crew cab short box, 48RE auto with "stuff" done, 5.9 with more "stuff" done
 
Old 03-03-2016, 10:30 AM   #4
arinkuddy
 
arinkuddy's Avatar

Name: arinkuddy
Title: Green Behind the Ears
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Feb 2014
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 77
The high idle problem sounds like a temp sensor. For ambient air temp the only one is the sensor in the grill by the drivers headlight. They are cheap. There is also the intake air temp sensor that could be the culprit as well. Id scan it while disconnecting one at a time to figure out which one it is.

You shouldn't need a boost fooler with EFILive. That can be all done with the tune. If its connected to the wastegate connector then thats a wastegate fooler, which is just a resistor to load the circuit. Have your tuner look at Internal Flash/Turbo/Boost Pressure, Too Low Thresholds if that is stock Id lower it by 5.5 PSI. That seems to work for me with the low boost issue.
__________________
2006 3500 QCSB SLT LoneStar - G56 - 3.73's - LT315/70R17 - Thunder 330 (62/74/14) - 50hp injectors - EFILive - S&B Intake and Horn - Fluidampr - DPS manifold
 
Old 03-03-2016, 07:01 PM   #5
PRINCETON_JAKE

Name: PRINCETON_JAKE
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Princeton Minnesota
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by arinkuddy View Post
The high idle problem sounds like a temp sensor. For ambient air temp the only one is the sensor in the grill by the drivers headlight. They are cheap. There is also the intake air temp sensor that could be the culprit as well. Id scan it while disconnecting one at a time to figure out which one it is.

You shouldn't need a boost fooler with EFILive. That can be all done with the tune. If its connected to the wastegate connector then thats a wastegate fooler, which is just a resistor to load the circuit. Have your tuner look at Internal Flash/Turbo/Boost Pressure, Too Low Thresholds if that is stock Id lower it by 5.5 PSI. That seems to work for me with the low boost issue.

All the sensors are reading correct other then one of the 2 coolant temps shown on the computer, and I can only find the one by the thermostat that Sean's to only control the guage.

Thanks for the info on the boost
__________________
silver 2006 ram 2500 4x4, crew cab short box, 48RE auto with "stuff" done, 5.9 with more "stuff" done
 
Old 03-07-2016, 11:43 AM   #6
PRINCETON_JAKE

Name: PRINCETON_JAKE
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Princeton Minnesota
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,070
We pulled the efi out and it was no longer idling at 1,000rpm. We tried multiple things and different computer softwares no matter what it's stuck on 1,000rpm when we put any efi tune in it.

Any help?

Hoping to figure that out so i can figure out a surge I have around 1,400rpm
__________________
silver 2006 ram 2500 4x4, crew cab short box, 48RE auto with "stuff" done, 5.9 with more "stuff" done
 
Old 03-11-2016, 08:23 PM   #7
PRINCETON_JAKE

Name: PRINCETON_JAKE
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Princeton Minnesota
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,070
Anyone have advice or explanation why my idle is stuck on 1,000rpm die to efi live?
__________________
silver 2006 ram 2500 4x4, crew cab short box, 48RE auto with "stuff" done, 5.9 with more "stuff" done
 
Old 03-11-2016, 08:40 PM   #8
ComnRailPwr
 
ComnRailPwr's Avatar

Name: ComnRailPwr
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster , OH
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 3,152
Without seeing the tune it's all a guessing game. The tune is causing it or your truck is not agreeing with the operating system used.

Sent from my E6782 using Tapatalk
 
Old 03-11-2016, 09:03 PM   #9
PRINCETON_JAKE

Name: PRINCETON_JAKE
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Princeton Minnesota
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,070
I don't know how/what to show, but I'll see if the tuner can post that.
__________________
silver 2006 ram 2500 4x4, crew cab short box, 48RE auto with "stuff" done, 5.9 with more "stuff" done
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.

 


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2006 - 2018, CompetitionDiesel.com
all information found on this site is property of www.competitiondiesel.com