Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Vendor Row > Sponsor Forums > Pureflow Airdog
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2017, 09:46 AM   #1
OBXdieselAddict
 
OBXdieselAddict's Avatar

Name: OBXdieselAddict
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nags Head, N.C.
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 162
AirdogII 200gpm Electrical Issue (blowing inline fuse)

What's up guy's.

So yesterday I left work and a couple miles down the road I was sitting at a stoplight and I started getting a little hazy and started idling weird, fuel pressure dropped and the truck shut down. As soon as I tried to turn it over again I noticed my pump didn't turn on. Both 10amp fuses in the fuse box were ok but the inline 20amp was popped. I replaced it and the pump turned on and truck ran fine for about 20 seconds and shut down again. Checked the fuse and it was popped again.

I figured the relay(I think that's what the little box was could have gone bad or maybe the pump so I tried to trouble shoot by unplugging the pump(at the pump) replaced the fuse again and cycled the ignition on without starting the truck. Fuse didn't pop. As soon as I plugged the pump back in it blew the fuse again.

What should I do next to trouble shoot where my problem is?

Another strange thing is that the truck will not run with the pump not on. I do have 1/2in. lines to and from the cp3 and valley could it maybe not have enough pressure from the tank to push to the cp3 with only a quarter tank of fuel? Shouldn't the CP3 be able to run the truck on its own without the Airdog running?
__________________
2001 Duramax LB7
IdahoRob, Burkett Racing Heads, ARP, LDS SAC 65%'s, Bullseye TCT S475 single, PRO FAB Spaghetti Headers, ATS stage 5 billet input and output's
Stock Bottom
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 10:32 AM   #2
Blueboy

Name: Blueboy
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 974
On my AD 150, it would run without pump being on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 10:49 AM   #3
OBXdieselAddict
 
OBXdieselAddict's Avatar

Name: OBXdieselAddict
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nags Head, N.C.
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 162
Yea its almost a two part question.

1.I know somethings wrong because I'm blowing the fuse on my pump.

2.Second issue is why am I not getting fuel if the pumps not on anyway. (both filters were replaced 2200 miles ago and the filter on the engine was deleted)

I'm confused lol
__________________
2001 Duramax LB7
IdahoRob, Burkett Racing Heads, ARP, LDS SAC 65%'s, Bullseye TCT S475 single, PRO FAB Spaghetti Headers, ATS stage 5 billet input and output's
Stock Bottom
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 11:41 AM   #4
2Tone12V
 
2Tone12V's Avatar

Name: 2Tone12V
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Missouri
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 9,319
Pull gerotar cap off and remove the gerotar from the shaft of the motor. Make sure there is nothing stuck inside there. While thats out kick the pump on and grab the end of the shaft and see if it's turning.
If there is something in the gerotar, clean it out and reinstall. Should fix the issue.
If there is nothing in the gerotar and the pump shaft is spinning. I'd say you have a bad motor. Checking the amp draw will confirm that. Should be next to nothing with the gerotar out and no fuel going through the pump.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 12:40 PM   #5
OBXdieselAddict
 
OBXdieselAddict's Avatar

Name: OBXdieselAddict
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nags Head, N.C.
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Tone12V View Post
Pull gerotar cap off and remove the gerotar from the shaft of the motor. Make sure there is nothing stuck inside there. While thats out kick the pump on and grab the end of the shaft and see if it's turning.
If there is something in the gerotar, clean it out and reinstall. Should fix the issue.
If there is nothing in the gerotar and the pump shaft is spinning. I'd say you have a bad motor. Checking the amp draw will confirm that. Should be next to nothing with the gerotar out and no fuel going through the pump.
Alright cool thanks! I'm in the middle of a move and I've got a wedding to go to tomorrow but I'll get a chance to mess with it Sunday.

I'll keep you posted on what I find.
__________________
2001 Duramax LB7
IdahoRob, Burkett Racing Heads, ARP, LDS SAC 65%'s, Bullseye TCT S475 single, PRO FAB Spaghetti Headers, ATS stage 5 billet input and output's
Stock Bottom
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 01:10 PM   #6
OBXdieselAddict
 
OBXdieselAddict's Avatar

Name: OBXdieselAddict
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nags Head, N.C.
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 162
Almost 100% I never got around to doing the warranty card so if the motor is fried I'm F#*@'ed on this deal.

Wonder how much I can find a motor for?
__________________
2001 Duramax LB7
IdahoRob, Burkett Racing Heads, ARP, LDS SAC 65%'s, Bullseye TCT S475 single, PRO FAB Spaghetti Headers, ATS stage 5 billet input and output's
Stock Bottom
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 03:10 PM   #7
OBXdieselAddict
 
OBXdieselAddict's Avatar

Name: OBXdieselAddict
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nags Head, N.C.
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 162
Ended up calling AirDog Monday and explained everything to them. They shipped me a brand new 4G motor that day. Awesome customer service. Couldn't be happier.
__________________
2001 Duramax LB7
IdahoRob, Burkett Racing Heads, ARP, LDS SAC 65%'s, Bullseye TCT S475 single, PRO FAB Spaghetti Headers, ATS stage 5 billet input and output's
Stock Bottom
  Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:33 AM   #8
smokin247
 
smokin247's Avatar

Name: smokin247
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 370
Did the new motor fix the issue?
__________________
97 nv4500 4x4. 63/68/.83, 5x.014, 025dv, airdog 4g 165, Hellman sump, steedspeed T4, bored .020 over, Mahle pistons, balanced crank, o-rings, valve job, Hamilton 188/220, Hamilton HD pushrods, SDX beehive springs & retainers, valair DD, and every bolt ARP makes.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.

 


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2006 - 2017, CompetitionDiesel.com
all information found on this site is property of www.competitiondiesel.com