Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > The Starting Line > Competition Vehicle Build Tech > Turbo/Super Charger Tech
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2017, 09:36 AM   #1
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,988
AFR/Boost in one gauge

Anyone have any recommendations on a gauge that can do AFR and boost (2BAR) in one gauge? I've got a side project to turbo my Jeep and I'd love for the dash to not get cluttered. I could fit a smaller gauge in a dead space in the dash, and if it could do both AFR and boost, I'd be all set.


I noticed Innovative has this one, but I was hoping to make this happen for closer to $150-$200 (budget build).
I've got a spare HE351 lying around as well as an intercooler off a B8 A4 Audi, and some ARP head studs. So it shouldn't take me much more than injectors, and arduino, piping, and a decent amount of fab work.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:18 AM   #2
Highwayman
 
Highwayman's Avatar

Name: Highwayman
Title: Boot
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: EastNC
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,102
Do you have any other gauges you can consolidate, say another pressure? So you can use a standalone AFR? Just wondering because I use dual needle pressure gauges
__________________
97 Dodge 2500 RCLB (GARBAGE TRUCK)

COMPD:
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcfreak24 View Post
Lolzzzzzz fakin haters
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 10:34 AM   #3
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highwayman View Post
Do you have any other gauges you can consolidate, say another pressure? So you can use a standalone AFR? Just wondering because I use dual needle pressure gauges
I don't follow. I might have an old 60psi boost gauge somewhere, but this engine will likely only see 8psi. It's currently stock and I've been making it nice again (replace floor boards, new LED headlights, tires, etc...), but I don't want it to look ricey, and that's why I'd like to get everything I need into one gauge.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 12:47 PM   #4
Highwayman
 
Highwayman's Avatar

Name: Highwayman
Title: Boot
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: EastNC
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,102
I was asking if you were using more than one aftermarket gauge already.
If so, for instance if you were using one for oil pressure, you could run a dual needle gauge and combine boost and oil. That way you'd have your normal (cheaper) AFR by itself.

But it doesn't sound like you're set up to have more than one gauge.
__________________
97 Dodge 2500 RCLB (GARBAGE TRUCK)

COMPD:
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcfreak24 View Post
Lolzzzzzz fakin haters
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 02:15 PM   #5
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highwayman View Post
I was asking if you were using more than one aftermarket gauge already.
If so, for instance if you were using one for oil pressure, you could run a dual needle gauge and combine boost and oil. That way you'd have your normal (cheaper) AFR by itself.

But it doesn't sound like you're set up to have more than one gauge.
Ah, I see. Sorry I wasn't following you before.

No, I've got a very stock dash right now and I'd like to leave it very stick appearing. I'm half tempted to hook everything up and tape it to my windshield during tuning, and then remove after I've got a solid tune, but I'm sure it wont go quite that smooth.
I also like not locking my doors in this thing and if I start having nice gauges, it's likely to attract the trash of this Earth.

Regardless, do you have a link to your boost gauge? I might be interested in something like that for my truck.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 02:23 PM   #6
zfaylor
 
zfaylor's Avatar

Name: zfaylor
Title: Comp Diesel Sponsor
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: P-TOWN!, Indiana
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 4,178
The biggest problem is finding one but the second biggest problem is whether or not it is accurate.

I know that a TON of wideband gauges out there need calibrated quite often and some of the ones that don't are way off. The AEM wideband is the only one I trust as it consistently reads.
__________________
2001 half ton heavy chevy
Turbo 5.3 S10 project
98 12 valve "shop truck"

North American Turbo
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 02:26 PM   #7
ctd>therest

Name: ctd>therest
Title: Green Behind the Ears
Status: Here
Join Date: Jan 2016
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 46
Plxdevices.com probably has what You want.
__________________
2011 rclb ctd/4x4/s482/87fmw/300hp-nozzles/Anarchy-tuned/inglewood-manual-48re/ppe-fuelers/625s
2006 cclb 4x4 some goodies 8.48@82.50mph
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 02:40 PM   #8
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by zfaylor View Post
The biggest problem is finding one but the second biggest problem is whether or not it is accurate.

I know that a TON of wideband gauges out there need calibrated quite often and some of the ones that don't are way off. The AEM wideband is the only one I trust as it consistently reads.
Really? We use Bosch one's at work often that seem to be spot on, but they're out of my price range with the logger/display! Although, I have seen some Chinese readers/displays that are basically just a raw PCB/display for like $25. That'd be a good option for wideband if I didn't want to keep it in the dash forever.

Have you had lots of experience with AEM vs Innovative? I know a decent amount of tuners that have recommended Innovative. They likely don't see them much more than brand new though.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 02:40 PM   #9
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctd>therest View Post
Plxdevices.com probably has what You want.
Thanks, I'll check them out.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 02:59 PM   #10
zfaylor
 
zfaylor's Avatar

Name: zfaylor
Title: Comp Diesel Sponsor
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: P-TOWN!, Indiana
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 4,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorneliusRox View Post
Really? We use Bosch one's at work often that seem to be spot on, but they're out of my price range with the logger/display! Although, I have seen some Chinese readers/displays that are basically just a raw PCB/display for like $25. That'd be a good option for wideband if I didn't want to keep it in the dash forever.

Have you had lots of experience with AEM vs Innovative? I know a decent amount of tuners that have recommended Innovative. They likely don't see them much more than brand new though.
Just AEM here. They are reasonable and they work. Widebands are one of those things that I don't like to experiment with given they are the most important part of a turbo gas engine.
__________________
2001 half ton heavy chevy
Turbo 5.3 S10 project
98 12 valve "shop truck"

North American Turbo
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 03:12 PM   #11
cumminsman315
 
cumminsman315's Avatar

Name: cumminsman315
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Missouri
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 979
We always used ngk sensors but never had a guage on them, just data logger. If I remember correctly that's what comes with a racepak
__________________
01 24v
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 03:25 PM   #12
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by zfaylor View Post
Just AEM here. They are reasonable and they work. Widebands are one of those things that I don't like to experiment with given they are the most important part of a turbo gas engine.
I found that we've got some old one's here at work and I was surprised that the body is extruded aluminum vs plastic on the Innovative. That's definitely a plus on the perceived quality side of things.

I'm still looking for a two in one for a decent price, but I'm thinking I'll go AEM if I do just one.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 05:58 PM   #13
Highwayman
 
Highwayman's Avatar

Name: Highwayman
Title: Boot
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: EastNC
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorneliusRox View Post
Ah, I see. Sorry I wasn't following you before.

No, I've got a very stock dash right now and I'd like to leave it very stick appearing. I'm half tempted to hook everything up and tape it to my windshield during tuning, and then remove after I've got a solid tune, but I'm sure it wont go quite that smooth.
I also like not locking my doors in this thing and if I start having nice gauges, it's likely to attract the trash of this Earth.

Regardless, do you have a link to your boost gauge? I might be interested in something like that for my truck.
Hewittindustries .com
I have four gauges and like 7 readings.
__________________
97 Dodge 2500 RCLB (GARBAGE TRUCK)

COMPD:
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcfreak24 View Post
Lolzzzzzz fakin haters

Last edited by Highwayman; 02-17-2017 at 06:00 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 08:42 AM   #14
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,988
Just to follow-up, I believe I am going to move forward with this gauge:
$320.98 - AEM WIDEBAND AIR/FUEL & BOOST FAILSAFE GAUGE | (30-4900)

I am talking with AEM and they might be able to modify it to supply a Narrowband Emulator output as well, since that's what my piggyback will use to control the system while keeping it in closed loop. This way I could use a single O2 sensor instead of having two bungs right next to eachother, doing the same job.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 08:46 AM   #15
zfaylor
 
zfaylor's Avatar

Name: zfaylor
Title: Comp Diesel Sponsor
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: P-TOWN!, Indiana
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 4,178
Well chit. It was right under our nose this entire time. I had no idea AEM made that!
__________________
2001 half ton heavy chevy
Turbo 5.3 S10 project
98 12 valve "shop truck"

North American Turbo
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 03:35 PM   #16
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by zfaylor View Post
Well chit. It was right under our nose this entire time. I had no idea AEM made that!
Pretty sweet right?!
It does a lot of extra stuff too. Honestly though, I'd rather have a non-programmable one for half the price, but I'll take what I can get.
__________________
12V - Thumper
Corey - BSME
97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 04:04 PM   #17
paulb
 
paulb's Avatar

Name: paulb
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctd>therest View Post
Plxdevices.com probably has what You want.
That's what I use. You can link multiple modules to display on one gauge. I have not had an issue with it so far.

Paul
__________________
02 4x4 Auto Mach 6+'s, Drag Comp,Source Automotive Twins, Ultimate Transmission
05 2500 4x4 Auto 3.73 BBI 4's, Smarty Touch, Source Automotive Twins, F1 springs and Cam, Opie's bypass system, Mitusa, PPE Dual Fueler, Ultimate Transmission, Opie shafts,Isspro gauges
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.

 


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2006 - 2017, CompetitionDiesel.com
all information found on this site is property of www.competitiondiesel.com