Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Tech Area- Dodge > Dodge Tech > 03-07 3rd Gen.
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2012, 10:36 AM   #1
Snedge
 
Snedge's Avatar

Name: Snedge
Title: Comp Diesel Sponsor
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Western Pa.
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 12,928
Smarty communication error fix.

I have run into a random communication error with the Smarty programmers on 04.5-05 Dodges.
Issues include. The Smarty will not read from the OBDII, or I get almost through the process and receive a time out error. I tried to isolate the issues within the factory wiring, but I gave up.

I have addressed this issue, by wiring an Auxiliary OBDII directly to the ECM. I leave the factory installed OBDII installed an operational. Basically what I did was provide a dedicated path to the ECM for programming only. The Auxiliary OBDII can be mounted anywhere you like. It is also handy for POD users in getting the Smarty and cable out of the way of the clutch pedal. These instruction cover 04.5-05 Dodge only.


You'll need an extra OBDII connector. I go to the local junk yard to collect them. I just snip all the wires from the connector about six inches back and pop it out of it's holder.
Be careful, things like Bees, Wasps, Spiders, Cats, Snakes, and sometime homeless people, live in junk cars. If you are afraid any of these things, you'll want to purchase your OBDII online.

The only connector of the two located on the ECM we are interested in, is the 50 pin connector. The pins on the ECM 50 pin connector we use are pin 16 and pin 19.

The Aux OBDII will only use four wires

OBDII pin 7 to ECM pin 16 SCI Transmit
OBDII pin 12 to ECM pin 19 SCI Receive
OBDII pin 16 to Unswitched +12v power (POWER ALL THE TIME)
OBDII pin 5 to Ground (-)

I wire tap the existing wires on the ECM, and seal the connections with RTV. Don't cut the wires. I just use a needle or jaw type tap, but soldering would be ideal. I use the drivers side battery for power and ground. To do it right a 30 amp fuse should be used on the power connection, but it is not necessary for function.Use as much wire as you need to locate the Aux OBDII in a location most convenient to you.
I have done this several times, and instructed others in this same manner. I'm not going to guarantee results, but this has worked for me. Be careful when tapping to the wires on the 50 pin connector.
I'm not trying to sell you anything. Just sharing a fix that has worked for me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by wideopen View Post
Snedge will never be banned ever!
 
Old 02-28-2012, 11:15 AM   #2
huhta99
 
huhta99's Avatar

Name: huhta99
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: N nevada
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 574
I had the very same problem with my 03 04 truck. did all the same thing but I did not find any homeless people sent my smarty to bob now it works great

Last edited by huhta99; 02-28-2012 at 11:16 AM. Reason: god damm phone
 
Old 02-28-2012, 11:24 AM   #3
LReiff

Name: LReiff
Title: The Antistock
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newburg, PA
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 9,194
If anyone would rather have a new OBD2 connector...

For communication wire I have used cat5e cable from the hardware store.
I have cut the communication wires to make the splice and used butt connectors similar to this without issue.
If you cut the wires to make a splice be sure to seal the connections with dual wall heat shrink.

The links I posted are for reference. Use at your own discretion.
__________________
Lee


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4dually
If anyone thinks the internet is serious they should seriously log off and burn their laptop.

Last edited by LReiff; 02-28-2012 at 11:38 AM.
 
Old 02-28-2012, 12:34 PM   #4
Scooter's Roofing

Name: Scooter's Roofing
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Here
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 16,050
if you want a new OBD-II pigtail, EFIConnection has them
__________________
that's pretty much all of it
 
Old 02-28-2012, 03:02 PM   #5
Snedge
 
Snedge's Avatar

Name: Snedge
Title: Comp Diesel Sponsor
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Western Pa.
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 12,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forrest Nearing View Post
if you want a new OBD-II pigtail, EFIConnection has them
Junk yards are cool places though.

We have a couple around here that allow you to dig for your own parts.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by wideopen View Post
Snedge will never be banned ever!
 
Old 02-28-2012, 03:35 PM   #6
Ktown6.0
 
Ktown6.0's Avatar

Name: Ktown6.0
Title: I can't remember
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Just Outside of Gainesville.
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Junk yards are cool places though.

We have a couple around here that allow you to dig for your own parts.
In typical derail fashion, this ^

Especially U-Pull it places.
__________________
Ray B.

1999 Dodge 3500 P-Pump 24v,
Parts from and Thanks to:
Beans Diesel
Mumau Diesel
Pure Diesel Power
Air Dog
Turbo Matt's Diesel
Garmon


1986 Jetta Coupe 1.6D, 5spd
 
Old 02-28-2012, 03:35 PM   #7
LReiff

Name: LReiff
Title: The Antistock
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newburg, PA
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 9,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ktown6.0 View Post
In typical derail fashion, this ^

Especially U-Pull it places.
You can't derail a thread without rails...
__________________
Lee


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4dually
If anyone thinks the internet is serious they should seriously log off and burn their laptop.
 
Old 02-28-2012, 03:40 PM   #8
LReiff

Name: LReiff
Title: The Antistock
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newburg, PA
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 9,194
This is the OBD2 connector from the side you plug a connector into, wires come in from other side.
Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Lee


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4dually
If anyone thinks the internet is serious they should seriously log off and burn their laptop.
 
Old 02-28-2012, 03:46 PM   #9
Howling
 
Howling's Avatar

Name: Howling
Title: Soot Sniffer
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern,IL
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 3,039
Had this happen to me with an 02 before.
__________________
Eric

2006 Dodge CTD/48re 4x4 Sport
With some fuel and air.
Bullseye,Hamilton,Exergy,EFI,ATS,FASS,HTS,Thuren, Toyo's...

1996 2500 RC 4x4 CTD- Collecting parts
 
Old 02-28-2012, 07:25 PM   #10
huck25
 
huck25's Avatar

Name: huck25
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 501
Dumb ? Do you still have to key on/off when its direct to the ecm?
 
Old 02-28-2012, 07:35 PM   #11
LReiff

Name: LReiff
Title: The Antistock
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newburg, PA
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 9,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by huck25 View Post
Dumb ? Do you still have to key on/off when its direct to the ecm?
Yes. That's a smarty thing.
__________________
Lee


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4dually
If anyone thinks the internet is serious they should seriously log off and burn their laptop.
 
Old 02-28-2012, 07:38 PM   #12
ComnRailPwr
 
ComnRailPwr's Avatar

Name: ComnRailPwr
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Here
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster , OH
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by huck25 View Post
Dumb ? Do you still have to key on/off when its direct to the ecm?
What I found on 2 different trucks was the ground pin #5 in the OBDII port to be corroded and dirty which caused communication problems with the smarty.
__________________
Cummins/Duramax EFILive Tuning
03 Dodge Spray & Pray
EFILive Conversion By Me
 
Old 02-28-2012, 07:38 PM   #13
huck25
 
huck25's Avatar

Name: huck25
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 501
Thought so just wanted to make sure as it was a direct line to the ECM instead of through the truck.
 
Old 02-28-2012, 07:42 PM   #14
LReiff

Name: LReiff
Title: The Antistock
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newburg, PA
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 9,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by huck25 View Post
Thought so just wanted to make sure as it was a direct line to the ECM instead of through the truck.
With the smarty it needs to see the ecm power on/off/on to start or end the flash. That is on a different pin in the obd2 port. Other software does not require this so we know that it's a smarty thing. It has nothing to do with corrosion because every truck requires it. Corrosion usually causes problems like an aborted flash or make it impossible to flash because communication with the ecm is lost or interrupted.


Not to say anyone is right or wrong. My personal experience has only seen this particular problem in 04.5 3500 series trucks and all of them were not able to load a Smarty or communicate with a DRB3 for ecm reflash function, however diagnostics worked fine.
__________________
Lee


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4dually
If anyone thinks the internet is serious they should seriously log off and burn their laptop.

Last edited by LReiff; 02-28-2012 at 07:46 PM.
 
Old 02-28-2012, 07:52 PM   #15
huck25
 
huck25's Avatar

Name: huck25
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jun 2008
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 501
Thanks. I was really just wondering if a guy could program his truck without having to "run it" while it was being programmed. Just looking for ways to have less draw on the battery while programming is going on.
__________________
05 qcsb
64/480 batmowheel, exergy 100%, joker side draft intake, ported/polished head, wicked twin pumps, r&r rods, colt stage 3 cam
 
Old 02-28-2012, 08:04 PM   #16
ComnRailPwr
 
ComnRailPwr's Avatar

Name: ComnRailPwr
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Here
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lancaster , OH
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,232
One truck was 03, the other was an 06. Could visually see corrosion on that pin only. Pulled obd2 apart and once cleaned boom it connected. Then soldered new obd2 in and no problems. Dunno if drb or any other programmer would connect or not, I just know smarty wouldn't.Thats my experience.
__________________
Cummins/Duramax EFILive Tuning
03 Dodge Spray & Pray
EFILive Conversion By Me

Last edited by ComnRailPwr; 02-28-2012 at 08:06 PM.
 
Old 02-28-2012, 08:11 PM   #17
LReiff

Name: LReiff
Title: The Antistock
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newburg, PA
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 9,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by ComnRailPwr View Post
One truck was 03, the other was an 06. Could visually see corrosion on that pin only. Pulled obd2 apart and once cleaned boom it connected. Then soldered new obd2 in and no problems. Dunno if drb or any other programmer would connect or not, I just know smarty wouldn't.Thats my experience.
So you added an ODB2 simply for convenience. Cool idea!
__________________
Lee


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4dually
If anyone thinks the internet is serious they should seriously log off and burn their laptop.
 
Old 02-28-2012, 08:35 PM   #18
Scooter's Roofing

Name: Scooter's Roofing
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Here
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 16,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Junk yards are cool places though.

We have a couple around here that allow you to dig for your own parts.
Oh trust me, I've spent countless hours digging through junkyards

where I'm at now, they don't have any decent self service yards... and I'm so super important, I just don't have the time anyhow. It costs me more in fuel to drive to a JY than it does to order a couple connectors
__________________
that's pretty much all of it
 
Old 03-20-2012, 03:26 PM   #19
slideandride

Name: slideandride
Title: Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2011
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 17
did anyone figure out why the obd wasnt working in the first place? That would kinda bother me........
 
Old 03-20-2012, 05:13 PM   #20
LReiff

Name: LReiff
Title: The Antistock
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Newburg, PA
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 9,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by slideandride View Post
did anyone figure out why the obd wasnt working in the first place? That would kinda bother me........
No. Why be bothered? Worse that can happen is the white smoke will escape...like a ghost...
__________________
Lee


Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4dually
If anyone thinks the internet is serious they should seriously log off and burn their laptop.
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.

 
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.3.8.6
Copyright ©2006 - 2014, CompetitionDiesel.com
all information found on this site is property of www.competitiondiesel.com