Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Tech Area- Dodge > Dodge Tech > 94-98 2nd Gen. 12V
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2010, 09:57 PM   #1
79_chevy_K_30_5

Name: 79_chevy_K_30_5
Title: Green Behind the Ears
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: clarksville ohio go bucks
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 31
Thumbs up v-10 to cummins swap

hey guys i need some help here i have a 97 3/4 12v auto 2x4 and i just bought a 97 3/4 4x4 with a v-10 auto i am wanting to put the cummins in the 4x4 truck i want all the gauges to work and make it like it came that way
things i know i need to change both trucks are complete and running

i was told the wiring should be plug and play wiring under the hood
change fuel sending units and lines
change out the brake booster setup
change comp.
exh.
i wanna try to keep the gas dash for the reason of the higher tach. for 4k spring kit

i know the motor mount and inercooler is all a given i am no dummy or the know how this is suppose to go. but what do i need to do with the torque converter and tranny to make it work thanks for all your help guys i going to need everones
 
Old 02-17-2010, 10:33 PM   #2
Big Deezul

Name: Big Deezul
Title: Green Behind the Ears
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 94
pretty sure the v10 and diesel used the same transmissions and converters from the factory
__________________
97 club cab 4x4
 
Old 02-18-2010, 06:53 AM   #3
95ram
 
95ram's Avatar

Name: 95ram
Title: Deputy dog 411
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 502
They use the same tranny but the gov. weights in the OD section are differant.
__________________
98 12 QC SB 4x4
Powered by Banks
 
Old 02-18-2010, 08:30 AM   #4
JariV
 
JariV's Avatar

Name: JariV
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Finland, Europe
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 250
I dont think the two tacho's interchange. If the V10 has the same kind of "external" pickup for crank pulses reading the rpms from the vibration damper then it might be able to read Cummins damper signal but that is highly unlikely. If it did then the amount of pulses are different and the tacho would read way wrong.

And as the harmonics of a V10 is completely different to inline six and everything in between these engines is different then you cant try to match the Cummins damper center to outer part of a V10. Well, you can but which vibrations would that dampen?

You could try to put a signal converter in between but all that hassle about a tacho with higher reading... I would use the Diesel gauge cluster as you actually do not much need the tacho above 4k if you are not building a race truck.
__________________
1995 4x4 2500, custom plate, 160 pump with modded AFC, 2095 plug, SDX Comp DV's, 4GSK, BHAF, S300/475 Twins, high flow manifolds, Smokem's 5x16 injectors, ARP studs, 60lbs springs, timing@18, AirDog150, 5" exhaust. Goerend billet trans&conv, BD billet flexplate, 3.54:1.
 
Old 02-18-2010, 08:43 AM   #5
cumminslow

Name: cumminslow
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: at the shop
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 605
the trans is the same the tq is not going to work you need adiesel 1 ,97 is a 47 re trans so there is no weights in the od unit ,the weights are only in rh tranys the cluster should work your diesel pcm is what sends signal to the cluster
 
Old 02-18-2010, 08:48 AM   #6
revolutiondsl
 
revolutiondsl's Avatar

Name: revolutiondsl
Title: Cat buys my Cummins parts
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lafayette, IN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,370
I dont see everything being plug and play between a EFI gas motor and a mechanical diesel. The lengths of the wires are going to be different and the V10 has more sensors. I would use the diesel cluster and the underhood harness from the 12v. The in cab harness should be the same. As said before you are going to want to use the diesel tach because you arent going to be much over 4k. The transmissions internally are the same but the cases are different. You are going to have to use the V10 OD housing (because its 4wd) and the diesel front section (to bolt up to the Cummins). A 97 doesnt have governor weights like the 94 and 95 its electronic governor so it should be plug in.
__________________
03 3500 QC SB 4x4 Auto, 2.5 puller
07 Mega Cab dually4x4,Auto, 5.9 ,
 
Old 02-18-2010, 08:51 AM   #7
cumminslow

Name: cumminslow
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: at the shop
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 605
the case should be the same
 
Old 02-18-2010, 09:03 AM   #8
97crewcab
 
97crewcab's Avatar

Name: 97crewcab
Title: Wrong.
Status: Here
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 2,581
I will let you know on the wiring. I am going to work on mine this weekend. I am thinking we will end up with a diesel harness. I have been told you can buy the harness from dodge for ~$700. I have not checked that myself though.
Unless you swap in a different computer or a stand alone controller i have a hard time thinking you will have much luck with the trans. Or you could swap in a 47rh. Mine is a 5spd so I can't help you there.
I believe the motor mounts bolt up.
Good luck.
__________________
94, 95, 96, 97 Dodge
Videos
Facebook
 
Old 02-18-2010, 09:08 AM   #9
SmokeN 12 ValvE
 
SmokeN 12 ValvE's Avatar

Name: SmokeN 12 ValvE
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Albemarle, NC
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 808
The cluster should work, there have been several people swap a gas cluster in their diesel so they could have the 6k tach.
__________________
James
04.5 Chevy Duramax - EFI live, straight pipe
 
Old 02-18-2010, 09:14 AM   #10
haloman
 
haloman's Avatar

Name: haloman
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 7,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeN 12 ValvE View Post
The cluster should work, there have been several people swap a gas cluster in their diesel so they could have the 6k tach.
The v10 cluster in the 97 and older doesnt work. 98 and up its fine.
 
Old 02-18-2010, 09:18 AM   #11
SmokeN 12 ValvE
 
SmokeN 12 ValvE's Avatar

Name: SmokeN 12 ValvE
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Albemarle, NC
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by haloman View Post
The v10 cluster in the 97 and older doesnt work. 98 and up its fine.
Sorry, is it just the v10's or does any of the 97 and older not work. I planned on using the one in my 96, but might have to rethink.
__________________
James
04.5 Chevy Duramax - EFI live, straight pipe
 
Old 02-18-2010, 09:18 AM   #12
haloman
 
haloman's Avatar

Name: haloman
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 7,876
Its just the V-10s 97 and older. V-8 cluster 97 and older will give you what you want.
 
Old 02-18-2010, 09:19 AM   #13
SmokeN 12 ValvE
 
SmokeN 12 ValvE's Avatar

Name: SmokeN 12 ValvE
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Albemarle, NC
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by haloman View Post
Its just the V-10s 97 and older. V-8 cluster 97 and older will give you what you want.
thats good news, thank you.
__________________
James
04.5 Chevy Duramax - EFI live, straight pipe
 
Old 02-18-2010, 11:02 AM   #14
Ether Man
 
Ether Man's Avatar

Name: Ether Man
Title: The Racer Formerly Known as ConcreteBlockHead, who was formerly known as Smittybuilt
Status: Here
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 411
i didn't know you had to change out brake booster setup.
__________________
Ether Spraying 101 enrollment begins soon!!!

Concrete Seminars Also!!!!
 
Old 02-18-2010, 06:16 PM   #15
79_chevy_K_30_5

Name: 79_chevy_K_30_5
Title: Green Behind the Ears
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: clarksville ohio go bucks
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 31
ok guys i have the pcm and wiring harness so thats not a prob but does anyone know for sure on the tranny cause thats that seams to be the topic everyone talks about thanks
 
Old 02-18-2010, 06:58 PM   #16
cumminslow

Name: cumminslow
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: at the shop
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by 79_chevy_K_30_5 View Post
ok guys i have the pcm and wiring harness so thats not a prob but does anyone know for sure on the tranny cause thats that seams to be the topic everyone talks about thanks
Your v10 trans is fine it is the same trans just swap out the tc and you should be fine this is base on my knoledge or expirience I have done this swap once or twice before
 
Old 02-18-2010, 10:03 PM   #17
79_chevy_K_30_5

Name: 79_chevy_K_30_5
Title: Green Behind the Ears
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: clarksville ohio go bucks
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by cumminslow View Post
Your v10 trans is fine it is the same trans just swap out the tc and you should be fine this is base on my knoledge or expirience I have done this swap once or twice before
thanks dude you the man if it worked for you it will work for me if anybody had any more pointer let me k now i will listen to what anyone has to say
 
Old 03-23-2010, 08:57 PM   #18
RamDave

Name: RamDave
Title: Gear Head
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Industry, PA
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 44
I did a similar swap last summer. I had a 96 regular cab with a cummins, but needed a extended cab to haul the kids in. I bought a 96 extended cab with a 360 that was blown up. I swapped my motor and tranny in. The gas harness unplugged right before it went through the firewall on the driver's side. The diesel harness plugged right in. The 3" body lift that was on the extended cab sure made life easier when installing the motor. We pulled the diesel out of the donor with a tow truck... Had a hard time getting it out from under the cowl. Dropping it in the new truck was a breeze!
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.

 
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.3.8.6
Copyright ©2006 - 2014, CompetitionDiesel.com
all information found on this site is property of www.competitiondiesel.com