444cu inch?

Are you confusing dwell time with piston speed?

The articles considered the speed discretely around dwell time so to speak so kind of one in the same (has been about 5-6 years atleast when I followed the competition). With regards to those higher compression pump gas motors the piston traveling away from dwell and not resting still at dwell for long was of high concern to reduce cylinder pressure at that instance hence reducing knock/detonation. I could not tell you in degrees what they considered dwell as I have already volunteered I am no expert. I am just interested in understanding the difference and connecting the dots.

Depends on the stroke vs rod length.

Yeah, that makes good sense now that I think of it. As you said I suppose it depends on the range of stroke/rod length we are talking about and the stroke of these cummins motors is far more than the small blocks they were using during the competition. I believe 4.125" was about as big of a stroke used.

I should have added it was regarding RPM, with the longer stroke/shorter rod the engine RPM will decrease. If the RPM was constant, then yes the shorter rod would decrease dwell time.

Yeah, that makes good sense now that I think of it. As you said I suppose it depends on the range of stroke/rod length we are talking about and the stroke of these cummins motors is far more than the small blocks they were using during the competition. I believe 4.125" was about as big of a stroke used.

I should have added it was regarding RPM, with the longer stroke/shorter rod the engine RPM will decrease. If the RPM was constant, then yes the shorter rod would decrease dwell time.

I see. I suppose then regardless of the stroke being discussed if rpm is constant dwell time decreases with less rod length for the given stroke.

(fixed: should have been length not angle)

Last edited: