Anyone have an idea of what happened here.

In the picture where big papa has the arrow is a crack. i touched it and it moved inword toward the wheel. Fins are mangled on sides also like it rubbed on it where the crack is.

If this is the case, I’d say the housing failed and damaged the wheel or the wheel came apart and damaged the housing. Either way, the flying wheel pieces would then be the debris.

Last edited:
Well this was my thought. I am no expert on turbos but thats what my common sense was telling me also. This is why i posted to get other opinions. Im calling tate tomorrow so ill see what happens. It could have been caused by something else but i cleaned everything off and had a brand new filter put in. Its a bummer for sure

If this is the case, I’d say the housing failed and damaged the wheel or the wheel came apart and damaged the housing. Either way, the flying wheel pieces would then be the debris.

Failure analysis is all about finding the root cause of the problem. There is a remote possibility that there was an inclusion in the wheel casting the caused that missing piece to break off and crack the housing; I'd need about 3 seconds with an eye loupe to answer that for sure. But it's much more likely to be debris introduced into the intake, especially when you look at the damaged surrounding areas. Something was playing pinball in there for a while.

What condition was the turbo in that you removed to install this one? ie was the previous turbo popped or failed in any way?

Failure analysis is all about finding the root cause of the problem.