Custom A-1000 fuel system

bigred13

I am looking into getting rid of my troublesome factory lift pump and had an idea but need some guidance as I am new to going any deeper than chip, intake and exhaust(been lurking as a guest for years on mainly powerstroke forums just never signed up). But haven't seen anybody go indepth as to how a one off custom system would be built. My idea starts with a sump on the tank then to a Baldwin 1311 filter head with a water seperator then the A-1000 pump to another filter head with a filter on to an aeromotive 13212 regular that I would just tie the bypass into the factory fuel line. My questions are am I completely off base with my design or on the right track? And how would I wire the new pump in?

sent while hardly working

Keep the filters/ separators downstream of the pump. You could run a strainer upstream, but nothing that produces any restriction.

Here is how mine is set up.
20130518_170249_zps96fb81da.jpg

100micron prefilter then a 10micron filter base.

Keep the filters/ separators downstream of the pump. You could run a strainer upstream, but nothing that produces any restriction.

Areomotive requires you run a -10 prefilter and pick up line or pump failure and loss of pump performance would suffer.

Areomotive requires you run a -10 prefilter and pick up line or pump failure and loss of pump performance would suffer.

What filters are you using? I was planning on using-10 through the whole system.

I ran the A-1000 on my old 7.3PSD set up.It works great,but I would suggest using the relay set up for controlling the pump.My pump only last 10-15k before burning up.I had it ran through a Painless Wiring fuel relay kit also.The Aeromotive pump controller helps limit voltage to the pump.This is important when used on the street.This is my experience with the A-1000 others may say something different though.