new-ish 3.0 truck

Brobida

I've pulled for several years but nothing with a dedicated build for pulling so sorry for any ignorance but, i was hoping to make a build thread/ suggestion thread. so I'm building a new-ish 3.0 truck, the chassis is 90% complete (bought it from someone that got out of pulling) i have the trans + tranfercase, 13mm northeast pump, FVP 3.0 turbo, some other various parts. Basically im wondering what i can get away with for a motor as far as bottom end and head, only looking to do a few pulls with it this year maybe 5 or less and i'm going to build a better engine for next year. So for this years engine, Any opinions on the "Mahle Motorsports Cast Performance Pistons", would it not be worth it and should i just modify the stock pistons (I'm a machinist)? is a girdle a necessity for pulling only 5 times with this motor? i was thinking about 13:1 or 14:1 compression, is that around the right compression?
Again forgive any of my ignorance but I'm looking for a little help.

Pulling for fun or pulling to compete? I'm assuming you're thinking Cummins powered, but your avatar pic looks like a Ford with my old eyeballs, so...

My opinion. You can not cut corners on a competitive 3.0 class engine. You say you're not going to pull that much, but you can blow up an engine, and flush a bunch of Benjamin's in way less than 300 feet.

What class have you been pulling in ?

Pulling for fun or pulling to compete? I'm assuming you're thinking Cummins powered, but your avatar pic looks like a Ford with my old eyeballs, so...

My opinion. You can not cut corners on a competitive 3.0 class engine. You say you're not going to pull that much, but you can blow up an engine, and flush a bunch of Benjamin's in way less than 300 feet.

What class have you been pulling in ?