Welding on turbo housings?

9 LIVES

Demolition Expert
What is the best process to use for welding a V band flange onto a compressor housing of a turbo? Not 100% sure of what metal they are made out of so I figured I better find out before trail and error.:evil

What is the best process to use for welding a V band flange onto a compressor housing of a turbo? Not 100% sure of what metal they are made out of so I figured I better find out before trail and error.:evil

Professionally!

Thinking about doing the same thing if I ever get around to making my own twins. But, damn, welding cast aluminum sucks!!

Welding cast aluminum sucks! Is there an echo in here?
Unless your really good I would have it done by someone who is.

Oh trust me im no expert....I can tig mild steel but hell no to aluminum.

I will find someone to do it I was just curious.

You have to change the gas on aluminum or it'll look like cigerette ashes.
TIG 100% argon on aluminum and get a thoroated(spelling?) electrode...weld on straight AC.
You can find some stock gasser cast aluminum at the boneyards and like you hear to death...practice-practice.

Argon with 2% thoriated tungsten and filler rod suitable for 6061 will work fine; even though helium cleans better, it makes the flame hotter (not required on small pieces).

Argon with 2% thoriated tungsten and filler rod suitable for 6061 will work fine; even though helium cleans better, it makes the flame hotter (not required on small pieces).

Thats why its called HELI-arc.:Cheer:

Ive tig welder cast aluminum before with 5356 filler rod, but if your weld area is not 100% clean it wont stick and its a pain in the arse to get the perfect heat. It sucks period welding anything cast aluminum.