Free rev poping

natesredride

natesredride
I just got my truck together from getting the head o-ringed and I put all my parts on also this is my first time working on a 12v so any advice is good for me. It is a 96 five speed 215 pump. I put a S465 on it and a 5x.016 sticks a .20 over gasket cds5k springs gutted afc 0 plate full forward half mill dvs fuel system and 3850. The timming is set at 25 degrees. When I first drove it I had the timming slip twice and now it has a new nut and lock that fixed it has not slipped yet. But now when you free rev it. Once it is warm it will start popping at about 2500 and runs rough but when you take it out and drive it under a load it will run great 50psi at 2200 and pulls strong up to 3900 that is the furthest I have taken it. It runs way better than my 24v that I had but don't understand it popping when you try to rev it when not under a load any help will be good this is my first 12v build. Thanks Nate

I just got my truck together from getting the head o-ringed and I put all my parts on also this is my first time working on a 12v so any advice is good for me. It is a 96 five speed 215 pump. I put a S465 on it and a 5x.016 sticks a .20 over gasket cds5k springs gutted afc 0 plate full forward half mill dvs fuel system and 3850. The timming is set at 25 degrees. When I first drove it I had the timming slip twice and now it has a new nut and lock that fixed it has not slipped yet. But now when you free rev it. Once it is warm it will start popping at about 2500 and runs rough but when you take it out and drive it under a load it will run great 50psi at 2200 and pulls strong up to 3900 that is the furthest I have taken it. It runs way better than my 24v that I had but don't understand it popping when you try to rev it when not under a load any help will be good this is my first 12v build. Thanks Nate

Sounds like it is running out of fuel.. Check the fuel filter, and overflow valve on the pump..