Miss at idle & Blow-by from valve cover!

-Boostjunky-

Boost-A-Holic
Ok, guys! I've been lurking on this site for a short while, just trying to gather knowledge about diesels. I'm fairly new to diesel engines, but VERY well versed in gas engines.

What are some common causes for a miss at idle, and blow-by coming from the tube that runs from the valve cover to just above the front differential?

There is also some oil coming from the vent tube, as it is covering my differential, and some of the underside of the truck.

The truck runs clean when there is a load on it and it is above idle. For example, running on the freeway, you'd never know there was an issue at all. Only when you come to a stop and notice it is missing at idle do you realize there is a problem. That and the blow-by and oil underneath the truck.

Also, the miss is somewhat intermittent. Sometimes it idles perfect, but most of the time, it is missing.

Things I've recently changed on the truck:
- Installed Edge EZ pressure box

Was running a triple stack when it all went wrong. The stack goes as follows:
1) Smarty with Revo # 1 (timing set to stock. I'm basically just using the Smarty to get rid of Torque Management)
2) Edge EZ on setting # 2
3) Edge Juice w/attitude on HOT.

I did spike the EGT's to about 1640 just before the issue arose, but only for a short moment. Right when I heard my Edge alarm go off for EGT (it is set to alarm at 1600), I let out of it. I was passing somebody.

I've removed the Edge EZ to eliminate that as being a possible culprit, but the Juice and Smarty are still in use. I can't imagine they would have any bearing on the problem, especially when there is obviously something mechanically wrong (oil and blow-by make that clear).

Things I've thought of as being possible causes: