1947 Dodge WDX-31

poolmike

Cabana Boy
I've been working on this truck in my spare time. A good solid tow rig project. Installing a 12 valve Cummins, Allison 2000 trans, P-30 step van axles, Disc brakes w/hydroboost, power steering with a reverse rotation Dodge box bolted in stock location. I'm a rookie to modding the 5.9, so I will be asking a lot of questions.

Here are some pics.

The truck where I found it...

DSC_0689.jpg

DSC_0692.jpg

It was a Collingswood, NJ Fire truck

DSC_0695.jpg

DSC_0696.jpg

Got it home and washed the moss and tree sap off it.

DSC_0699.jpg

DSC_0697.jpg

Mocking up mounts and steering box, yes the frame will get some reinforcements....

DSC_0224.jpg

It fits. I will require some form of high mount turbo.

DSC_0230.jpg

Cab coming off..

DSC_0049.jpg

DSC_0050.jpg

I've been taking an auto body class at the local tech school 2 nights a week. So far I have the body work done on everything but the cab. The fenders, running boards, and lower grill shell are painted black. 3 coats of black base, 4 coats clear.

DSC_0582.jpg

DSC_0580.jpg

DSC_0581.jpg

More to come as the project gets moving. The chassis and cab are currently at the media blaster, hopefully getting them back this week

Here is a in cab pic with the SAE#2 flywheel housing attached. It will be tight in there....

DSC_0227.jpg

Nice swap. Truck looks to be in great condition. keep the pics coming

hooray for it NOT being a ford

very cool project.. nice work you are doing.. congrats.. oh i like the jeep in the picture also.. always wanted to do a 8.3 in one of those..

very bad a$$ project!

I would have left the paint the way it was, maybe clearcoat over it, but thats just me

keep the pics coming