3.0 cover on a 2.6 cut wheel...Thoughts/Experiences?

3.0 cover on a 2.6 wheel

• Make more boost and power

Votes: 24 20.9%
  • Same boost and power

Votes: 9 7.8%
  • Explode the charger

Votes: 11 9.6%
  • Create a black hole in the universe

Votes: 71 61.7%

• Total voters

takedown95

I've been kicking around this idea for a couple of years. I run NTPA pro stock along with the local 2.6 class. Instead of buying two chargers why not just buy a spare 3.0 cover and swap in 15 minutes or less.

HX-60 with a 2.6 cut wheel.

Has anybody ever swapped a 3.0 cover and ran with a cut 2.6 wheel?

Results? Thoughts on what might happen?

He wants a bigger cover... Instead of a 3.0 couldn't he go to a race cover?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ahh I didn't realized he needed it for a 3.0 class. Disregard my prior comment

Looks like the general consensus is it will create a black hole. For the love of God man, don't do it!

It would work but I am sure it wouldn't be competitive

It would work but I am sure it wouldn't be competitive

I don't expect it to be as competative as a full blown 3.0 charger but at the same time I would never expect a 2.6 truck to be competative with a 3.0 built truck. Just looking to be more competative at a reasonable price.

There are a couple of pulls this weekend so we'll see. If a black hole is indeed created then no one will really care anyways. LOL

Wouldn't it be easy to just swap a cover AND the wheel? Be far better than a clipped 2.6 in a 3.0 cover.

if its Holset yes, could be running something else ??

This is how I ran my charger for a few years. I built my truck for NADM rules back in the day. The turbo I bought was a Swamps 76MM BFH. It had a 3.0 cover, but the wheel was clipped for a 2.6 cover. I had no issues with it, still don't.