47re build questions.

Bustedknuckles

Honey Badger
So against better judgement I decided to build a friends 47re for him. I got a Goerend master kit with a full valve body and it was actually easier than I expected!!!! Ive bugged Dave a few times so I decided to start this thread to ask some questions so I don't have to waste his time. Basically I have it all back together and before it put the overdrive unit on I'm checking the clearances using a straight edge off the overdrive case down to the bearing surface inside. I cant remember what's its called right now as its 11:15 and ive had a big day. LOL. But anyway my problem is that my measurement is less than the minimum spec in the book, does anyone have a clue or do y'all need more technical terms? If so I can get those tomorrow.

medy4yju.jpg

Alright the measurement is from the face of the overdrive housing to the clutch hub thrust bearing surface. I'm getting 1.33 and the minimum measurement on the chart used for selecting thrust plate thickness is 1.75??????

How thick is your straight edge? I I think the dodge tool to measure is half an inch thick, if you use a different thickness you have to compensate for it.

How thick is your straight edge? I I think the dodge tool to measure is half an inch thick, if you use a different thickness you have to compensate for it.

Its .25. I'm taking the average measurement of 4 points and subtracting .25 off of it to get my number.

I think you need to add in .5 for the factory dodge tool. Just checked my 2004 dodge service manual and they don't subtract out the thickness of the tool. It's been a while since i've done this though and your manual may be different.

Pop the OD piston out, and the snap ring that holds your top plate in. Then put the bearing, spacer, and OD piston on top of the OD. Then measure the distance you can lift the top plate before the piston starts to lift. You need to lift it on both sides.