Compound of a different flavor....a WG dilemma...Of the VW variety

fouckhest

So i am complete newbie to this forum...been subscribed, and lurked for a while...

I build a VW TDI compound turbo...HP = GTB2056vk, LP = BW S247, with a PTE 46mm cut over WG....

the long and the short of my problem is getting the cross over gate to open at the right time...Initially the gate was setup with 25psi springs, no signal with the intention that the gate would open with ~50psi EMP...well i blow past 50psi EMP, boost shoot past 45psi with the quickness...also the internal gate on the LP is safety wired shut...

so the gate is out, and looking to put a lower pressure spring setup in the gate as well as run a signal to the bottom of the gate...my theory now is:

15psi spring in the gate
signal to the bottom only, with a regulator in line, mounted in the glove box for ease of adjustment....

also debating putting the actuator back on the LP internal gate and running that...

here is a quick boost curve, from the video from below...the ECU/program is requesting 30psi, but it blows past that....

video:
[ame="http://s283.photobucket.com/albums/kk286/fouckhest/?action=view&current=IMG_1304.mp4"]IMG_1304.mp4 video by fouckhest - Photobucket[/ame]

boost request vs actual (note the ECU maxes out at 2600mbar)
boostreqvsact.jpg

and a couple pics for fun...this is the engine before install....
IMG_0546.jpg

one in the bay....
7639017736_3c8d9335be_b.jpg

one of the car....
202625_10151035163551657_521793914_o.jpg

i appreciate any help!

That is sweet!

The secondary or second stage gate spring could be to strong. That is relatively low boost for compounds and might still require dumping some around the primary.

Sweet build! Whats done to the engine?

thanks...engine is pretty much built....
rosten H-beam rods, 2.0l OEM pistone (compression lowered to ~17.5:1), 1/2" crank girdle, balanced rotating assembly...head was gasket matched and cleaned up (by me, so nothing crazy)...