Divorce-mount np205

20valve

Tired 215
So a while back, I picked up a 2wd nv4500 for my '98 for a really good price. I was going to swap the rear housing on the back for the 4wd version and the mainshaft, but I got another good deal on a driver's side drop divorce-mount np205 out of a mid-70's ford. I tore it down, ordered a rebuild kit, had my shift rails machined for twin stick ability, and 32 spline 1410 yokes all the way around.

The case is ready to go back together, but I'm having problems coming up with a crossmember to hang it from. I've searched a few other forums and have came up with some good results, but I want to see what the masses here think.

This was someone else's design for a newer chevy, I believe DNRcustoms, from another forum:

Custom205t-case.jpg

Custom205t-case2.jpg

input is appreciated.

Any reason? I have zero fab skills/metal knowledge, so I don't know what you mean by "I wouldn't run that crossmember". If you have something to share, by all means, share it.

Edit: If you're talking about the welds, I will bolt mine in.

^^^^ simple yet looks a lot stronger! if it were me i would have run a solid piece of tubing across the top straight and welded drops on it to the mounting points then gusset it. im no fab pro either but something about six welded joints at all different angles i dont like it. or if you couldn't fit a straight tube across the top i think you could do it in four joints and weld in a few triangle gussets. but i like to go a little overboard when building things,

Nice fab work. I've never seen one mounted like that, but I like it. Was there no chance of using the upper mount on the driver's side? Like you did on the passenger side?

BigD, I had a pic somewhere of what you're talking about. I just don't remember how they mounted the 4 studs at the top. I had also seen another one where they basically made a cradle out of 2x6 box tubing around the whole thing, then hung it from a crossmember like you had said.