Hello, new from Pa

WHITExGUY

Beard life
Names tj. im new to the world of diesel engines, but i tend to learn fast when it comes to how things work. Im a machinist and welder at a industrial machine shop, i spent two years in college learning about high performance engines(mainly drag racing). Im an ameture roadrace/time attack/drift driver, my track car is a 1989 nissan 240sx, and this is were it gets fun....

For a couple years i drove the car under stock power, a whopping 120hp out of the tired 300,000mile engine. My plans for this year were to strip the entire car down completely and get it ready for a more abusive competition life in 2013. Originally a semi beefed up ls1 was going to find its way into my engine bay to push a few more ponies and torque. Plans changed during the 2011/2012 winter months when my friend picked up an old diesel VW that we proceded to beat the crap out of all winter. I fell in love with the little diesel car and wanted one of my own, then jokingly my friend said "why not diesel swap your track car" we laughed about it for a little but slowly the joke ate away at my brain and i thought, "why shouldnt i put a diesel in my track car?"......

Fast forward to present day, im currently in the process of swapping a cummins 4bt into my 240sx. Its getting a beefed up t56 6 speed and a 3.56 gear to go behind it and boost wheel speeds a bit. My original plan was to build this engine to handle 1000+hp but only make close to 500. But investing that much $$$ into an engine that might not work in my application isnt an easy bullet to bite. So now ive went ahead and did basic mods, 4200rpm gov spring, fuel pin, pump turned up. Should be more then enough to give me an idea of how well it will work.

I have much bigger plans if this engine does work out. And it involves adding 2 cylinders and droping seriouse weight :poke: