I need some tips

Lifted94XLT

Alright guys. I'm goin to the track saturday and this is my first time EVER racin the strip. I've read thru the forum and it seems like 4hi is the answer to good times. I will be in my truck with mods listed below along with a Workhorse Chip I just installed earlier this week. but anyway. other than the boosted 4hi launches, do y'all "seasoned racers" have any tips for this drag racing nOOb? Thanks.

--Ryan

When you stage, only light the top light on the tree, then wait till the other guy stages both lights. When he does, hold the brake, start to build boost, and just barely let up on the brakes until it rolls enough to light the second light. As soon as you see the last green, let the brake go and hold it to the floor. Keep it that way till you cross the finish line.

Let us know how you do. If you are going to do it very often, think about getting an SCT, tuned from one of our vendors. You will get a lot more HP, but more imprortantly, you will keep your transmission happy.

Last edited:
Learn to count the lights, as in:
Code:
   [u]LIGHT : COUNT : TIME[/u]
  yellow :  one  : 0
  yellow :  and  : 0.1666 sec
  yellow :  two  : 0.3333 sec
   green :  and  : 0.5 sec
The time is measured from the exact start of each count word.

Watch a bunch of launches to see where drivers and front tires are when they pre-stage, and how far they move to stage. You'll be better prepared when you get to the line the first time.

Pre-stage (turn on the first staging light), build and maintain 5 PSI boost (to take up slack in the drivetrain), wait for the other guy to pre-stage, then stage (turn on the second staging light). Remember that *you* might be 'the other guy'. When staging, be sure you travel only far enough to *just* turn on the second bulb. No further. And do it the same way every time.