Let's talk about torque converters

Howling

Soot Sniffer
It's time to pull the trans out of my 06 and freshen it up for this year. It's currently a HTS full billet trans with a 91% Suncoast torque converter.

Last year I raced it a few times and I had a hard time building any boost on the line (10 lbs is all) I used to be able to build at least 20 on the street.

I would like to try a looser converter but not sure how that is going to do on the street when I'm running a S475 as a single.

Who runs a 4 disc converter from DPC and how do they like it?

If I go back to a Suncoast (or DPC) what stall speed would people recommend for a weekend toy. 7800lbs, S475/.83/90

stock stall always worked well for me. Good street and track manners

I never really owned autos, so i'm new at what is what. based in how easily i could make boost with my single 66 and especially twins with the worn out motor (and especially cam), i decided to go with a lower then stock stall. i had a stock stall originally. I'm looking for street performance and to stay unlocked a little more then not. i didn't like the "right to 3000rpm" as soon as i was somewhat on the throttle. All dave g stuff

I suppose if you can spool the single.... tighter is bad :)

I like the convertor as tight as you can get and still light the charger.

Call Phil at DPC and tell him what you are doing with the truck and what you are running. He will fix you up with what you need.

I never really owned autos, so i'm new at what is what. based in how easily i could make boost with my single 66 and especially twins with the worn out motor (and especially cam), i decided to go with a lower then stock stall. i had a stock stall originally. I'm looking for street performance and to stay unlocked a little more then not. i didn't like the "right to 3000rpm" as soon as i was somewhat on the throttle. All dave g stuff

I suppose if you can spool the single.... tighter is bad :)

Which Goerend converter did you end up with Jason?