Opinions on clutches and the nv4500

Penni

im considering the infamous swap from 47re to a nv4500 and i want some opinions on what clutches will hold like a south bend compared to the valiar clutches (which are much cheaper) etc.... I make about 500 horse at the crank so i need one that will hold that much and possibly a little more given some more mods later on down the road... a Friend of mine says that i will tear the splines off the input shaft with the power i make and i dont think i will (thoughts?)....

i have looked at many old threads but nobody really says anything about how good or strong different clutches or if they have good/bad luck with one or the other...

and also the 5-speed im looking to put in is a re-man coming from a shop in memphis "high-gear" has anyone dealt with these guys? good/bad??

Im a college student and i need to save as much as possible but i also understand that i cant take too much of the cheap route, so any opinions on the tranny or clutch options will be greatly appreciated!!

keep the RE.....as for your friend.....he's a dumbass.....my truck has done 40psi boosted launches and my splines are still intact and my trans works fine. as for a clutch, i run nothing but southbend, not to say valair isn't good, i've just had such good luck with SB i see no point in switching. for 500HP you'd be great with a 3250 dual disc

My opinion...keep the 47re.
i would but here is my problem, the tranny is currently shot, and i have gone through 3 of them in under a years time... maybe i am just having bad luck? but i need to stop going through them so much i dontpull a sled just trailers etc... im considering the manual swap just for the more reliability aspect...

or you could build the auto with GOOD components and be done with it

For what you would spend in swapping to a nv4500 and buying a decent clutch, you could build your re to handle 500 hp no problem.