Poor Performance, Loud Throbbing...

floridabob

Going to try and be succinct on the issues by listing them:
1-poor fuel economy, far worse than before these symptoms
2-Loud thumping/throbbing from Ice Box intake (was always there but now much louder)
3-Tons of smoke vs. before (black)
4-weaker boost on low end, but still winds up to 45 psi

I looked around under the hood some and found on my HTT 3 piece manifold a bolt had fallen out. Fixed that, but very little improvement.

Sounds like an exhaust leak and feels like a loss of power due to lower boost at low end or over fueled...or combo of both.??

Did not seem to get worse steadily, but change overnight.

thanks for any help

bob

Ran the valves and #6 exhaust was way out of whack... Now I wonder why?

NO noise from the intake now, whereas I always had it before now. Wonder if the last guy that ran the valves didnt do it properly. Or, since this is my first attempt, if I didnt do it right.

More than likely it was the previous owner messing up (did it to my own truck and thought it was a bent pushrod). There aren't any valve seats on your truck to worry about dropping.

If it loosens up again then I'd look at the pushrods and see if they are bent or maybe a cam lobe is starting to wear.

Going to try and be succinct on the issues by listing them:
1-poor fuel economy, far worse than before these symptoms
2-Loud thumping/throbbing from Ice Box intake (was always there but now much louder)
3-Tons of smoke vs. before (black)
4-weaker boost on low end, but still winds up to 45 psi

I looked around under the hood some and found on my HTT 3 piece manifold a bolt had fallen out. Fixed that, but very little improvement.

Sounds like an exhaust leak and feels like a loss of power due to lower boost at low end or over fueled...or combo of both.??

Did not seem to get worse steadily, but change overnight.

thanks for any help

bob