S482/87/1.1 fmw as a primary

RHP997

part-time
I'm doing some remodeling on my engine and engine bay and am going to be compounding my current turbo which is a 66/74/.91 and am curious how well it would perform with an FMW s482/87 with a 1.1 T4 housing as the primary. Would I need a larger housing on the 82 or will the .91 housing on the manifold be the limiting factor if running without a wastegate?

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk

Im not a twin expert by any means so im sure I will get corrected, however I think you will have some excessive drive pressures with that small T-4 housing. I think you would have a happier set up running a bigger t-6 turbine.

I'm kind of thinking the same thing or atleast a 1.25 housing but this is what was recommended to me so I thought I'd seek some opinions

Will the 87 turbine not support say 900 or so hp?

I am running that tubo with a ported HE351cw and so far drive psi has not been an issue. That is also with a stock 3rd gen mainifold.

Borg is really pushing the 87 turbine and the conversations I had was told it will flow as much as the 96x88.

it will work but its not ideal. a ported 351 is still not going to come anywhere to the flow of a 74/.91

Borg is really pushing the 87 turbine and the conversations I had was told it will flow as much as the 96x88.

Thats some good info to hear. I've been talkin with the guys at BD about getting my truck into the mid 10's and this is what's been recommended. Basically I'll have something similar to their RT1000 compound setup.

BDs new RT1100 kit is a 66 80/73 .91 over a 82 87/81 1.1. On a Common rail it should make 1000hp. The 87/81 wheel like zstroken said flows very close to the 96/88 but it will take more abuse. The T4 1.1 housing is the only thing that concerns me as far as flow goes but I guess I will see this year....

Last edited: