Safe Rail Pressures

Hellsteed

I am studying the performance tune of another programmer I have and am astounded at the tuning... at 1,300rpm the air density commanded fuel pressure is ~20,000 and from 1,400rpm on the commanded pressure is 33,000! I ran this tune daily for a long time and didn't have any issues.

I'd like to know what y'all think is a good safe max in rail pressure? The above is from a 100hp tune (dyno'd). I've heard anywhere from 20,000psi to 26,000psi.

Have you compared to stock? Stock is showing 18500+/-psi at 1400rpm at 55mm3. 33,000 is not achievable, so someone just maxed the table out. Log it, never will get anywhere near that.

Fuel system is designed to handle 26k and more.

I think the Cummins fprv will pop after 160mpa on most of the trucks, some have held more. If you have a plug, might want to watch the psi. Dmax Bosch common rails see way more than that without issues.

Last edited:
Look at D0784 under fuel pressure, parameters. That limits the max commanded RP regardless of what is in the tables. I'd say it's 160-165MPa.

Have you compared to stock? Stock is showing 18500+/-psi at 1400rpm at 55mm3. 33,000 is not achievable, so someone just maxed the table out. Log it, never will get anywhere near that.

Fuel system is designed to handle 26k and more.

I think the Cummins fprv will pop after 160mpa on most of the trucks, some have held more. If you have a plug, might want to watch the psi. Dmax Bosch common rails see way more than that without issues.

Ok that makes more sense... sure the system can handle it but what kind of pressure can it handle sustained on a daily driven basis?

Look at D0784 under fuel pressure, parameters. That limits the max commanded RP regardless of what is in the tables. I'd say it's 160-165MPa.

Yes the stock limit is 160MPa but it's software limit is 250Mpa. I think I'll up mine to 190 and see how things go.

Software and mechanical limits don't always agree.