stock fuel, lots of air

wilmesbm

I just recently turned my other truck into a dedicated "racetruck" so naturally, I had to turn my towrig/daily driver up a bit to make it more fun to drive. For reference, it's an 03 Dodge 3500 that now has a built auto with a manual valvebody. It's got headstuds, an airdog 150, and, for now, a smarty s06 for tuning. Stock injectors, stock cp3.

Now for the discussion. I'm fairly new to the common rail world, but I know that stock fueling will only support x amount of horsepower, but at what point does stock fuel limit the ability to light bigger chargers and/or multiple chargers? Can you tune around the added lag of a bigger charger without adding extra fuel or can stock fuel not drive bigger chargers hard enough?

The truck currently has a 60/68 s300 on it and runs pretty decent. I have a super b special 64/71.5 s300 and a s480 sitting on the shelf that I'm contemplating bolting on. The super b special and 480 were on my racetruck at one point and drove pretty well, but I'd kind of like to try the 60 over the 480. Is it worth experimenting with now, or just wait until more fuel is added into the equation?

While the 6.7's are a different animal I've been running an s480 single on stock fuel on my 4th gen for the last 18 months without any difficulty. Obviously I'm not running it to its potential, but it does spool just fine with tuning I've written myself, and I've been pleased with the way it runs in general (as have a number of people I've taken for rides)

While the 6.7's are a different animal I've been running an s480 single on stock fuel on my 4th gen for the last 18 months without any difficulty. Obviously I'm not running it to its potential, but it does spool just fine with tuning I've written myself, and I've been pleased with the way it runs in general (as have a number of people I've taken for rides)

It's not stock fuel if you have tuned file.