The Coolest Swap In The History of Ever.

Matther

This will be my project thread. I am no expert nor am I the guy with a spendable income. What I am getting at is, this will be a long project so don't expect pics up every week. :doh:

Now here is my goal yes.

1944 Ford 1 1/2 ton Dually plus a DT466 equals :rockwoot:

I am in the process of getting the original parts back in shape to at least have it drivable. Once that is complete I can start doing a swap. I have been looking for an old International box truck or school bus for the running gear. I think it will be easier to swap all the running gear then upgrade from there. Rather than find all the parts you don't have.

Like I have mentioned this is going to take time and I am open for any advice.

DT466 = large. 44 Ford = small. Have fun sitting on the valve cover.

Seriously though, a DT466 is 4'x3'x4' - a DT360 is close in size to a 6BT Cummins and would be a much better fit and cheap too. I have seen several running DT360 frame cuts with trans for $1500 or whole busses for 2k.

Before I type up a post on why this wont work, what is getting changed other than the engine/trans?

Screw the weight, think about the length of it and the radiator sizing vs the truck.

Radiator could always be put behind the cab under the bed floor. Put it at a a slight angle from horizontal and build a few air scoops in front of it....Just have to place a filler neck under the hood slightly above the engine, and may take a while to fill. Or may be able to use an industrial radiator from a Dozer (D3 Cat for example) to put up front depending on how far back he wants the engine into the cab. Non intercool it possibly. Honestly it is very do-able. Just gotta be creative. Nothing else, stretch the frontend to minimize cutting the firewall. The sky is the limit really.

Last edited: