Thinking about getting my first 6.7, need help

fast_stang_88

Well I have had a bunch of 5.9s thru the years and I have been thinking about getting a newer truck. I was thinking maybe an 08-10 model.

Since I am a totall newbie with these engines point me in the right direction, is there a year to stay away from, known issues with them that I need to address or keep and eye out when I look for one.

Also how is the auto trans in them? I do a lot of heavy pulling and I have had a manual trans in all of my trucks but I have been kicking around the idea of getting an auto. Can they hold up to 32-36k gross weights or should I just stick with the g56.

Thanks guys for all the help.

my boss has an 08 with the 68rfe he bought new. regularly tows very heavy with it and is known to have lead foot. only problem he had was a turbo and it has 85k miles on it now

If the truck is staying stock the 68RFE will be just fine. The issues with these trucks are usually head gaskets due to the amount of cylinder pressure, the VG turbo and the trans if guys mod the truck and really beat on it in 5th and 6th. The Nav system screen will die on you too. Overall I think they are great trucks. I would never go back to a 5.9 after owning my 6.7.

Also remember if you get the G56 a clutch will be a must very quickly, theyre not very good.

I hear you on that, my 1st 05 was a freak I got 205k on the factory clutch and it was pretty much loaded from day one! I was like if it lasted that good I will use it again, didnt get but 60k out of that one.

Same with my 06 I have now, I am almost to 200k on my 2nd clutch and I am just about ready for the 3rd.