Tieing your TV Cable.

Dinner

Canadian EH
Hey guys,

I've searched and read as much as I could on tieing the tv lever to WOT for drag racing for my 47re tranny. However I ran into a little problem when I was testing some things out the other day. I'm new to drag racing (only been down 6 times now) and I've read, as well as Dave G suggests tieing your kickdown WOT for drag racing. I'd like to get this figured out so I can actually test and tune the truck for better ET.

Long story short, I zip tied mine WOT and took it for a drive. I never accelerated hard, but I let it go through the gears then came to a stop. I went to start off again and my tranny went into limp mode. Brought the truck home, read/cleared codes and cut the zip tie.

I'm assuming I need some sort of resistor inline at the PCM to avoid this? I know there is a resistor of some sort there since I had Dave install the tranny for me. However why would it put my transmission into limp mode? Also, can you daily drive with it tied WOT all the time?

Thanks for all the help in advance!

I dont recommend leaving it tied up for DD and neither will Dave G.

I dont recommend leaving it tied up for DD and neither will Dave G.

Yeah that is fine, would be too harsh of shifts anyways specially for winter time! Is there anything I can do to prevent it going into Limp mode? Or should I zip tie it, run my race, come back and cut the zip-tie, clear the codes/re-start the truck and carry on?

Im not getting the whole limp mode but yes thats what Dave told me to do with mine. Ive forgotten to cut mine before and didnt get the limp mode.

Im not getting the whole limp mode but yes thats what Dave told me to do with mine. Ive forgotten to cut mine before and didnt get the limp mode.