Turbocharger Identification

Fahlin Racing

So being a complete newby to turbine style superchargers, I would like some help on identifying different makes and whatever else should be looked at when buying not just a new one but a used good charger as well.

Bolt patterns change, housings can be different etc etc.

If anyone would care to help me out, I would greatly appreciate the generosity from you guys and/or gals! :Cheer: Small or big.

Thank you,
Jim Fahlin

I have no intention of running every single design there is. The point of this thread is so I or others can learn what to look at when observing any turbocharger when looking for a candidate or just learning in general about the differences out there.

Nothing particular to a certain design or make.

Thanks Riv.

If we want we can go all the way up to something that is being ran on a 19 litre used in pulling.

Small, medium or large buddy!! I am up for jumping into it.

Looked through the thread, no mention of bolt hole patterns or size of bolt holes, no mentioning of scroll designs either from what I had seen.

I could be unaware of how any were referred to as well and missed them.

I think it would pay you to go read one of the introductory books on the subject and come back with better questions. Books by these guys are all on Amazon. The question you're posing is akin to "how do I pick a wife?"

Corky Bell
Jay K. Miller
Hugh MacInnes

cooking + cleaning + sex drive + kinkyness = wife score, highest score wins.

aka picking a wife is much more simple.

I guess the technicality level of what I am looking for must be quite a bit and only parts books and design books will entail. I will just let turbos be someone elses worry.

So much for a good thread, mods go ahead and torch this thread.

Thanks for those putting effort in!

I guess the technicality level of what I am looking for must be quite a bit and only parts books and design books will entail. I will just let turbos be someone elses worry.