Best Oil

Doug speaks highly of Valvoline but that stuff is big $$$$$
I have been using Rotella T Synthetic for a couple years with no problems (so far)

I may try the non-synthetic Valvoline next time

What engine?

If your running it in a 6.0 or 7.3 HEUI, then your going to want an oil that stands up VERY well to shearing. Mobil Delvac does well. So does Shell.

If it is in a cummins, you can just about dump crisco in the sump and still get awsome oil reports.

The Duramax seems to eat just about anything well also.

Bang for the buck: Shell Rotella T 5/40. You can pick it up at any WallyWorld, and it is MUCH cheaper then other 5/40 synthetics.

The first interval was without the B50 bypass filter. All others had the bypass filter.

5/40 Rotella T is the most recent. The other 5,200 interval was 5/40 Mobil 1. Not much difference in wear for the increased cost of Mobil over Rotella. The first is Valvoline Premium Blue 15/40. That change also had an additive, and notice the MASSIVE amounts of moly. I won't run Valvoline additive again, thats for sure!

The best money spent is on a bypass filter. I don't like the expensive offerings out there, so I built my own. Toilet Paper filters sub-micronic, but I have yet to see any arguement that submicronic filtration will give an engine a longer life then filtering down to 8 micron. (that is what the B50 is rated at).

Attachments

• oil.JPG
    oil.JPG
    109.1 KB · Views: 28
250 hours on standard oil and 400 on syn. Do your oil changes on time and see where your avg mile change falls. Lucky is dead on about the shearing in a HEUI fuel injection system. Your oil won't wear out but your additive package will.

More information here--> Bob Is The Oil Guy

I run Amsoil, I know it seems expensive at 1st but in my case running it 10,000 miles & just having to change the filter at 5,000 & an add quart is cheaper than running anything else.