Pump timing issues

jsmith3391

Hello everyone! Im new to using this forum but I figured id use it because I was having issues last night with my truck. I have a 64mm d-tech turbo, Volant cold air intake, 60lb valve springs, 4k spring kit. valair single full ceramic clutch, 5in exhaust...those are some of my mods. last night I installed 5x0.14 injectors and .024 delivery valves. pin timed both my pump and my engine. truck ran great. went through the process to advance timing to 18 degrees. truck would haze more than id want it to and it would not idle. whenever I took my foot off the throttle, it would die. I went through the timing procedure again and set it to 12 degrees. did the same thing. hazed bad and wouldn't idle. so I set It back to pin timed on both pump and engine. can anybody help me out on why its doing this and not letting me advance???? Im lost and have read over the procedure many times. its tells me I need to go to .233 on the dial indicator for 18 degrees. I went two revolutions on the indicator and stop at .033 on indicator for 18 degrees. truck wouldn't idle. any help would be appreciated. thank you

What's it idle at? May need to adjust idle for the bigger injectors or add more clicks to the gov springs

Well with it not advanced, it idles around that 700-800rpm mark. then when I try advancing, it wont idle at all. I thought about bumping up the timing but that seemed like a Band-Aid to me. wasn't sure if it was the right thing to do to fix it.

Depends what you think excessive is. They will haze more then stock. Are you sure you are advancing the timing and not retarding it?